Author Topic: Fault detection in sketch.  (Read 2950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Logan

  • Newt
  • Posts: 41
Fault detection in sketch.
« on: February 04, 2014, 07:35:41 PM »
Greetings to all! 
Does anyone know a way to detect if a sketch is fully connected?

Would you like a way to test whether all points in a given layer are interconnected with no breaks, if any, show where broken.
This is possible?

I have attached an example to better illustrate the issue.
Any help in this direction is welcome.

Thank you very much.

Logan.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 07:54:13 PM by Logan »

danallen

  • Guest
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2014, 07:49:11 PM »
I use express tools fast select to grab lines that are supposed to be connected. This grips tell you where the break is

Logan

  • Newt
  • Posts: 41
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 08:02:01 PM »
I use express tools fast select to grab lines that are supposed to be connected. This grips tell you where the break is

Hi danallen.
I did not understand, could better exemplify?

Thanks.

danallen

  • Guest
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2014, 09:50:09 PM »
See http://www.cadalyst.com/cad/autocad/13-more-express-tools-4738

I don't have autocad or express tools anymore to confirm for you, as I'm on bricscad.

Quote
Fast Select (Fastselect) This is a clever Express Tool. You select one object, and Fastselect grabs all those objects that touch the selected object. You can even set it up to grab all the objects that touch the objects that touch the selected object (ouch!). Think of it as a chain. Fastselect works with a partner command called Fsmode. When Fsmode is off, only those immediate objects that touch the selected object are highlighted (figure 2). When Fsmode is on, it creates a chain of selected objects (figure 3). Key in FS to access this cool command.



Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2014, 10:05:38 PM »

Testing for faulty connections should test for more that just elements crossing.
I can imagine cases where elements cross or touch without the endpoints being coincident.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Logan

  • Newt
  • Posts: 41
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2014, 09:12:06 AM »
See http://www.cadalyst.com/cad/autocad/13-more-express-tools-4738

I don't have autocad or express tools anymore to confirm for you, as I'm on bricscad.

Quote
Fast Select (Fastselect) This is a clever Express Tool. You select one object, and Fastselect grabs all those objects that touch the selected object. You can even set it up to grab all the objects that touch the objects that touch the selected object (ouch!). Think of it as a chain. Fastselect works with a partner command called Fsmode. When Fsmode is off, only those immediate objects that touch the selected object are highlighted (figure 2). When Fsmode is on, it creates a chain of selected objects (figure 3). Key in FS to access this cool command.

Thanks for the reply danallen.

Honestly did not know this command.
Unfortunately, in my tests, it came to also select separate lines. Do not know what the tolerance that this program works. Perhaps as a palliative measure I can use it.

But what I want to FIND, is a routine that can perform such analize so I can implement it in another program also acquired this forum.

Logan

  • Newt
  • Posts: 41
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2014, 09:28:21 AM »

Testing for faulty connections should test for more that just elements crossing.
I can imagine cases where elements cross or touch without the endpoints being coincident.

Thanks for the reply Kerry.
It is exactly this kind of solution I'm looking for, you know something?

I found another one of the great programs Lee. Maybe he can give north to the subject, but I am still very far from using his logic to create a code.

http://www.lee-mac.com/chainsel.html

Thank you.

hmspe

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 367
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2014, 04:05:46 PM »
You could try the program at this site:  http://autocadtips.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/autolisp-find-and-mark-gaps/

There is a free Express Tools version in the Bricscad applications store that has updated versions of many of the express tools.
"Science is the belief in the ignorance of experts." - Richard Feynman

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2014, 04:44:42 PM »

Testing for faulty connections should test for more that just elements crossing.
I can imagine cases where elements cross or touch without the endpoints being coincident.

Thanks for the reply Kerry.
It is exactly this kind of solution I'm looking for, you know something?


You could try the program at this site:  http://autocadtips.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/autolisp-find-and-mark-gaps/

There is a free Express Tools version in the Bricscad applications store that has updated versions of many of the express tools.

Somewhere like that would be where I'd start.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Logan

  • Newt
  • Posts: 41
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2014, 09:37:36 PM »
You could try the program at this site:  http://autocadtips.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/autolisp-find-and-mark-gaps/

There is a free Express Tools version in the Bricscad applications store that has updated versions of many of the express tools.

Many thanks hmspe.
This program will be an excellent starting point.

Good job guys.

Anyone know how to draw circles of radius 2 using Grdraw?
The function used as parameter uses the coordinate (pt) and (r) radius.

Code: [Select]
(defun circle (pt r)
  (command "circle" pt r)
)

Thank you.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2014, 09:54:37 PM »
I wouldn't use grdraw, the displayed graphic is too temporary because of it's design.
I'd draw real circles on a unique layer that you can isolate if needed.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Logan

  • Newt
  • Posts: 41
Re: Fault detection in sketch.
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2014, 10:19:57 PM »
I wouldn't use grdraw, the displayed graphic is too temporary because of it's design.
I'd draw real circles on a unique layer that you can isolate if needed.

I would like to do something like the gap of the hatch command. I do not know how to do that, it does not disappear with the zoom.
Sounds interesting.