TheSwamp

CAD Forums => Vertically Challenged => Topic started by: tedg on February 23, 2017, 10:21:49 am

Title: Revit Structure to RISA 3D and back?
Post by: tedg on February 23, 2017, 10:21:49 am
Does anyone have any experience with exporting/importing Revit structure models to Risa 3D?
We're just getting into this, and we have made some progress using the analytical model in Revit with the Risa Add-in.


One of the problems we're finding is that the analytical model "nodes" aren't connected as they should be.
Like beams or braces either aren't connected, or not at the same location (centroid of the members not at the same point)
And so we have to drag and snap lots of nodes together.


Surely there's a better way to build the Revit model so it looks right and you don't need to adjust the analytical model separately too.
It could be a setting in Revit?, I looked at the Structural settings for Analytical Models, but I'm not sure what some of them mean.


Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Title: Re: Revit Structure to RISA 3D and back?
Post by: lamarn on February 23, 2017, 12:36:37 pm
Revit & this kind of structural software... ?? I really doubt it.
Probably autodesk robot that should have the best integration
We like these models to be separated...
Title: Re: Revit Structure to RISA 3D and back?
Post by: Krushert on February 23, 2017, 01:17:36 pm
(http://www.reactiongifs.us/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/nuh_uh_conan_obrien.gif)
Title: Re: Revit Structure to RISA 3D and back?
Post by: tedg on February 23, 2017, 03:39:39 pm
Revit & this kind of structural software... ?? I really doubt it.
Probably autodesk robot that should have the best integration
We like these models to be separated...
Well.. these are "supposed" to talk to each other and work, and it sort of works.. but not clean.
I was hoping someone out there had some experience with these two programs working together.


The idea is the SE's do their analysis and engineering in Risa, and we can update the model in Revit without having a lot of rework.
That is what I believe the intention was when they made it so they could import/export.
Title: Re: Revit Structure to RISA 3D and back?
Post by: lamarn on February 23, 2017, 03:46:35 pm
In my country lot of people work with SCIA engineer.
It is analytical based modelling with integrated 3D CAD abilities.
Kind of the other way around. I like that idea a lot better.
Structral model is way more important than the CAD model

Just my opinion..
Maybe you would like to try it as trial.

https://www.scia.net/en/support/webinars/advantages-having-cad-capabilities-your-3d-structural-design-software