TheSwamp

Code Red => .NET => Topic started by: Kerry on December 21, 2010, 10:15:41 PM

Title: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Kerry on December 21, 2010, 10:15:41 PM

Netloading a DLL and wondering why the most recent changes are not available ...

then realize your build was Debug but you're loading the last Release Build  :ugly:

DUH !!
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: David Hall on December 22, 2010, 08:22:32 AM
HEY!!!!!!!!!!!!! I resemble that!  thanks for the laugh Kerry
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Kerry on December 22, 2010, 10:12:58 AM


Ooops, I'm in the poop again  :wink:
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Glenn R on December 22, 2010, 02:40:54 PM
Then posting it on the forum...priceless!  :evil:
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: David Hall on December 22, 2010, 02:42:53 PM
2 out of 5 of my favorite critics, where are the rest of the gents?
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: mohnston on December 22, 2010, 04:59:54 PM
Forgetting to set CopyLocal to True (or False) for the managed dlls.
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: David Hall on December 24, 2010, 02:29:07 PM
Thanks for the heads up Mark, I will keep an eye out for that one.
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Kerry on December 25, 2010, 02:53:47 AM


Just a reminder ....

If you try to run VLIDE (Visual Lisp Editor ) when there is a debug net DLL loaded you'll probably get a LoaderLock Error.

This error can be ignored by setting the Debug Exception Configuration in VisualStudio

Refer attachments :
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Kerry on December 29, 2010, 03:16:51 AM
Take a short walk outside ( or make another coffee) and change your hat   before changing languages ...
otherwise you may find yourself doing this in Vlisp

(while (   (strlen partline) != 0  )
< .. >

or this in C#

(if  (m_value == string.Empty) {
< .. >
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Jeff H on December 29, 2010, 06:12:42 AM
I do the same thing switching between Revit and Autocad
Once I finally quit doing AutoCAD commands in Revit, I will start doing Revit commands in AutoCAD when I switch back.
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: LE3 on February 04, 2011, 02:53:01 PM
Spend a whole day and a half trying to find a bug (MyObject was not selectable after loading the dbx file), even went recreate the project from scratch, and nothing, until a few minutes ago it was a simple bad return on one overrided function MyObject::subClose().... Miserable Acad::ErrorStatus....  Duh!!! :evil:  :-P
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Jeff H on February 06, 2011, 02:30:59 AM
Looking at the AcDbMgd.dll and AcMgd.dll from the ObjectARX 2011 folder in Reflector and wondering why all methods are empty
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Kerry on February 06, 2011, 03:25:59 AM

OK, I'll play  ..... why are they empty for you ??
Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: Jeff H on February 06, 2011, 04:20:56 AM

OK, I'll play  ..... why are they empty for you ??

I thought just from looking at it from reflector that the AcDbMgd.dll and AcMgd.dll in the ObjectArx SDK folder was just the names of the classes and methods with all the logic stripped out.

Had to open dll's where acad.exe is located to try to make out any logic.

First pic of Line3d from installtion and second from Sdk

Title: Re: The DUH! factor ....
Post by: mohnston on March 02, 2011, 12:18:32 PM
When I add and existing class to a project I just noticed the "Add as Link" option.
I have classes that I use in different projects (SelectionTools.cs, BlockTools.cs etc.).
If I add them as links then any features I add (or more likely bugs I fix) are there for all projects with that class.
Better than having various versions of the file floating around.

I read where C++ projects do this by default. Seems like a good idea.