TheSwamp

CAD Forums => Vertically Challenged => Architecturally Speaking => Topic started by: daron on October 25, 2006, 08:36:04 AM

Title: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: daron on October 25, 2006, 08:36:04 AM
We may have seen this one before, I may have posted it before, but I'm looking into CW's again and can't figure out on my own, how to do marvelous, intriguing things with them. Therefore, I did a search and found >>this (http://www.sonic.net/~odin/lounge/architectural_desktop/general_tips/garden_fence_curtain_wall.htm)<<. Just thought I'd bring it up incase anyone else has wanted to use CW's and just couldn't break through it. I'm going to print it and study it.


Side note: I've just gotten started on a side job. Yeah me. I figure, I can work however I want with this job, so I'm doing this in full ADT. I just finished exterior walls, doors, a simple curtain wall, footings, slabs (floor and roof) and column and beam, and 3 sections in one hour. At the regular work, it takes much longer, because, while we use walls doors and windows and various other ADT elements, I'm forced to redraw all of my elevations and sections. It's crazy how people justify their reasons for not using the tools at their disposal.
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: Dommy2Hotty on October 25, 2006, 09:39:31 AM
It's crazy how people justify their reasons for not using the tools at their disposal.

Amen, brother...
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: Krushert on October 25, 2006, 10:04:39 AM
It's crazy how people justify their reasons for not using the tools at their disposal.

Amen, brother...

Exacty what I am battling over here. 
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: TimSpangler on October 25, 2006, 12:04:28 PM
It's crazy how people justify their reasons for not using the tools at their disposal.

Amen, brother...

Exacty what I am battling over here. 

Funny how companies spend all that money on ADT and don't even use it. :ugly:  I'm going throught the samp dung here as well.
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: Diněsaur on October 25, 2006, 12:07:26 PM
Same with Civil . . . We only used q quarter of what Land Desktop could do and less than that of EaglePoint.  With Civil 3D we may be up to a little over half, but at least going in the right direction.  I think the Revit folk are doing better as well.
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: daron on October 25, 2006, 01:17:52 PM
I've toyed with Revit for a few minutes. Seems so foreign to me. I couldn't get past the white screen.
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: Diněsaur on October 25, 2006, 01:40:14 PM
I've toyed with Revit for a few minutes. Seems so foreign to me. I couldn't get past the white screen.
Oh yes, quite different it is . . .
Title: Re: ADT Curtain Walls
Post by: Dilbert on November 17, 2006, 08:19:24 PM
Well, Revit is very different, but different isn't bad. First with Revit you are forced to use it as Revit and not really have any "tool" work-arounds.  Of course, you can import AutoCAD details into Revit Drafting views, so you don't have to lose all your pre-done details.  Also, you can use Revit with a Black screen if that white screen bothers you (it's a setting within the program).

All in all I've used AutoCAD, ADT, and Revit extensively and all-in-all I enjoy Revit the most once you get past that 2-3 week learning curve.  Revit's biggest strength is also its weakness... it's all contained within one drawing (for the most part).  The bad thing about this is it often gets REALLY slow on very large models (several hundred thousand square feet)... but even then the parametric benefits of the program usually out-weigh any speed issues (and typically Revit isn't extremely slow like us old timers remember from the old days of CAD and computing).  All in all it's a good prduct if you take the time to learn and understand it.