Author Topic: F# the new lisp?  (Read 8739 times)

DraxJDM

• Newt
F# the new lisp?
« on: September 22, 2012, 08:11:10 AM »
hey all

I am just starting to learn some programming for autocad and the question like many have, where do i start.

After looking around a bit i find lisp to be the best way to go.
Why, because of a few things. It is easy to learn, you don't have to recode for different versions of autocad like in .NET (is something i find back very often as draw back for .NET)
And then i found some things to F#, a special this slide show  http://secretgeek.net/content/fsharp_leonb.pdf]  at slide 82 it is presentend as the replacement for lisp.

The question, is there anyone of you that is looking in to F#?

Greetz john

Lee Mac

• Seagull
  • London, England
Re: F# the new lisp?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2012, 08:22:46 AM »
The question, is there anyone of you that is looking in to F#?

Speak to gile, he is our resident F# fanatic  :lol:

gile

• Gator
  • Marseille, France
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2012, 12:03:55 PM »
Hi,

I'm not really "fanatic" nor the single one here to have shown some interest for F#.
I like F# because I like the "functional way of thinking" and also the concision and elegance provided by the F# syntax.
IMO, F# has also its defaults:
  • it's quite confidential, AFAIK, we're only very few trying to use F# programming for AutoCAD (the only ones I know: kaefer, Bobby C. Jones, Jeff H and I here at TheSwamp and Kean Walmsley).
  • the F# runtime isn't istalled with the .NET Framework (at least until Framework 4.0) and needs a separated installation to run F# assemblies.
  • F# does not provide a visual editor to build GUIs as other .NET languages do.

Anyway, learning F# won't be, IMO, really easier than learning any other .NET language, AFAIK, all the F# guys named upper had a .NET knowledge (C# or VB) before they started with F#.
AutoLISP stays the easiest way to begin programming AutoCAD.