Author Topic: VLisp or VBA what's your thoughts?  (Read 2854 times)

sestes

VLisp or VBA what's your thoughts?
« on: June 07, 2004, 12:45:08 PM »
Alright this is a question that has been going through my head for a while.  I am not new to AutoCAD, I have 12 years experience (no collage classes) and I work in the 2D world of CAD (never had a need to go 3D).  I would very much like to further my knowledge and skills with AutoCAD through programming.  I've just recently found these forums and I am thankful I can finally get some input from people who understand where I'm coming from. I have to say this one is my favorite forums and I can see there are a lot of talented people here.  Now I don’t want to start a war or anything, but which programming language would you recommend I learn?  There is a software programmer at my work who swears by VB and thinks I should start their.  But he doesn't understand AutoCAD so he has an unbalanced opinion.  I am a beginner in this area.  The only experience I have is Script files, my own menus, and the occasional lisp routine that I cut and paste into vlisp editor.  I would appreciate a good book reference too.  Thanks.   :)

Mark

• Custom Title
  • Seagull
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2004, 12:56:02 PM »
I would say start with autolisp because you can do some great stuff quickly, plus once you've learned lisp it's much easier to move on too other languages, I know that for a fact! I'm learning C++ now and my general programming knowledge as come in quite handy.

as far as books goes I like AutoLISP programming princples and techniques by Rod Rawls and Mark Hagen. Or you might send an e-mail to SMadsen. <- plug

http://www.smadsen.com
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

hendie

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2004, 12:59:19 PM »
I would say, try both Lisp and VBA and see which one you find easier.