TheSwamp

Code Red => AutoLISP (Vanilla / Visual) => Topic started by: T.Willey on January 17, 2013, 04:33:01 PM

Title: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: T.Willey on January 17, 2013, 04:33:01 PM
I did not see any repercussions for this error with my lisp that I just wrote, but was wondering if anyone else has seen this?  Seems to happen every time.

Command: (getstring)
(

Can't reenter LISP.
"("
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: BlackBox on January 17, 2013, 05:05:40 PM
Not sure I fully understand what you mean, Tim... So, FWIW -

Code - Auto/Visual Lisp: [Select]
  1. (
  2.  
  3. Can't reenter LISP.
  4. "("
  5.  
  6. (this is a test)
  7.  
  8. Can't reenter LISP.
  9. "(this is a test)"
  10.  
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: BlackBox on January 17, 2013, 05:07:54 PM
I haven't tested any .NET code myself, but perhaps this is an issue where one is attempting to type LISP within Editor.GetString() ?  :? *not sure*
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Lee Mac on January 17, 2013, 07:01:23 PM
AutoCAD 2013:

Code: [Select]
Command: (getstring)
(

Can't reenter LISP.
"("
Code: [Select]
Command: (getstring t)
(
"("
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: T.Willey on January 17, 2013, 11:29:07 PM
The issue was when entering an open parenthesis to 'getstring', the error "Can't reenter Lisp." would show up, but not stop the Lisp routine running.  I was just wondering if anyone has ever seen this issue, and if has caused some errors in the long run?

That solution worked for me in '12 also Lee.  Thanks for that.  Never crossed my mind, in my rush to code my simple routine that I needed.
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Lee Mac on January 18, 2013, 05:10:31 AM
The issue was when entering an open parenthesis to 'getstring', the error "Can't reenter Lisp." would show up, but not stop the Lisp routine running.  I was just wondering if anyone has ever seen this issue, and if has caused some errors in the long run?

That solution worked for me in '12 also Lee.  Thanks for that.  Never crossed my mind, in my rush to code my simple routine that I needed.

No worries Tim; I'm surprised I've never noticed/encountered this result before  :|
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: MP on January 18, 2013, 06:26:51 AM
+1 for the thread title.
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: irneb on January 18, 2013, 06:51:12 AM
Wow! Does seem irritating doesn't it? I also can't remember this happening. Must be some new "adesk-derived-feature"  :ugly:
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: tedg on January 18, 2013, 12:02:06 PM
+1 for the thread title.
+1 more (LOL)
(defun c: grammercheck ()
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Lee Mac on January 18, 2013, 12:06:23 PM
+1 for the thread title.
+1 more (LOL)
(defun c: grammercheck ()

(http://images.wikia.com/uncyclopedia/images/5/55/Knuth_don_has_a_grammar.jpg)
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: tedg on February 05, 2013, 12:14:06 PM
+1 for the thread title.
+1 more (LOL)
(defun c: grammercheck ()
:lmao:
Thanks for pointing that out Lee, I would like to say that I did that on purpose but...  :-[
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: David Bethel on February 05, 2013, 12:17:40 PM
What is TEXTEVAL sysvar set to?  -David
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Matt__W on February 05, 2013, 12:56:11 PM
+1 for the thread title.
I thought this was a spinoff of the Snapchat thread.   ^-^
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Lee Mac on February 05, 2013, 01:06:05 PM
What is TEXTEVAL sysvar set to?  -David

Good suggestion David, but after a quick test on my system it seems that the TEXTEVAL System Variable unfortunately has no effect on this behaviour of the getstring function. :-(
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: David Bethel on February 05, 2013, 01:24:42 PM
Looks like this is the case all the way to alt least R12 DOS. From the customization guide:


The user cannot enter another AutoLISP expression as the response a getstring request.


-David
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Keith™ on February 05, 2013, 02:37:55 PM
but what if the respondent desires to enter something in parenthesis ... something that is not for lisp evaluation?
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Lee Mac on February 05, 2013, 02:45:59 PM
but what if the respondent desires to enter something in parenthesis ... something that is not for lisp evaluation?

To clarify, its still possible to enter a string starting with an open parenthesis at the getstring prompt, and the getstring function will still return this entered string correctly, however, you just receive the annoying Can't reenter LISP message to accompany it:

Code: [Select]
Command: (getstring "\nEnter String: ")

Enter String: (test)

Can't reenter LISP.
"(test)"
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: Keith™ on February 05, 2013, 04:04:38 PM
hmm .. nomutt perhaps?
Title: Re: Can't reenter Lips. error with getstring
Post by: irneb on February 05, 2013, 04:16:53 PM
Tried, doesn't help. Neither does CmdEcho.