Author Topic: Line-consolidating routine - Flow problem?  (Read 4930 times)

ANA

Line-consolidating routine - Flow problem?
« on: May 19, 2008, 08:59:29 AM »
Can someone tell me why this routine only processes 4 or less adjacent co-linear lines, and why it always quits on error no matter how many lines it processes?

And in general, is this the wrong way to go about it, with 3 levels of sub-routines? It's the only way I could think of to process a selection set that keeps getting changed by the processing. I've never tried anything like this before.

I work in BricsCad (Intellicad), but this routine only uses really basic functions, so I don't think that makes any difference.

Code: [Select]
;;; CleanUp converts all co-linear sets of adjacent lines into single line entities.
;;; -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
;;; If any two lines have the same slope and an endpoint in common,
;;; they're replaced by a single line,
;;; whose endpoints are the non-matching endpoints of the first two.
;;; That's repeated until no more matches are found.
;;; -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
;;; Flag1 means a match was found and 2 lines were replaced by a new one,
;;;    i.e., start processing the selection set all over again.
;;; The new set is processed unless it's the same length as the last set (i.e. no matches found)
;;; To process a set, pick an Ent1 against which to compare all other lines in the set,
;;;    cycling through the set with counter n1 so every line gets a chance to be Ent1.
;;; To process an Ent1, pick an Ent2 against which to compare its slope and endpoints,
;;;    cycling through the set with counter n2 so every line gets compared to Ent1.
;;; To process an Ent2, first compare its slope against M, the slope of Ent1
;;;    If there's a match, see if either of its endpoints is the same as either endpoint of Ent1