Author Topic: Text Direction  (Read 7541 times)

Jassper

Text Direction
« on: April 22, 2004, 12:15:00 AM »
Question on what the standards are for the direction of text when the north arrow is not point up... say it is pointing to the right (looking down at the plan). Which way would the text be placed? If you rotate the paper so the arrow is up would the text be right side up or upside down?

Thanks  Linda     :)

Slim©

• Needs a day job
  • The Dude Abides...
Text Direction
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2004, 02:07:03 AM »
The standard answer is text should read from left to right , the top of the text  being either the top of the sheet or toward the left hand side of the sheet. When reading plans most often North is to the top or to the left side of the sheet. Or you could say rotated 90 degrees left or counterclockwise. I've been drafting or designing for the last 25 years (a lot of it done by hand) and most if not all governmental agencies prefer it this way.
I drink beer and I know things....

M-dub

Text Direction
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2004, 07:51:03 AM »
Agreed,
   Everything I've seen (that was done right) where north is pointed towards the left side of the drawing, you should have to turn the drawing clockwise 90°.  All text (in almost all cases) should read from left to right or bottom to top.  I'm sure some engineers and designers out there think otherwise, but you don't want to end up spinning the drawing all over the place to read the text.
Hope that helps... ;)
Mike

Dent Cermak

Text Direction
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2004, 08:27:33 AM »
All text should read left to right from the bottom of the sheet or from the right hand side of the sheet. The u.s. Army Corps of Engineers put out a neat chart several years ago about text placement. They use a "15 degree" rule. Check out the Corps CAD standards manual that is available for a free download. There should be a chapter on text placement and alignment.