Author Topic: New to Multiple Viewport - Display Question  (Read 6079 times)

craigr

New to Multiple Viewport - Display Question
« on: January 10, 2014, 10:08:50 AM »
I have been using Viewports for quite a few years, but now want to add 2 extra Viewports to the same dwg. So, I have run into an issue that hopefully has a simple solution.

I put all of my 'labels' on one layer that I call Dims. These always are in a QLeader with a box around it and the Arrow pointing at the device. But, now that I am adding 2 extra Viewports, these 2 extra Viewports will have different 'zoom' scales, which throws off the scale of my text - which I have set to automatically scale to the Viewport.

What I would like to happen is for the Dims in Viewport1 to only appear in Viewport1 and NOT in the other 2 Viewports. Viewports 1 & 2 are simply zoomed in areas of the overall building which is shown in Viewport3.

I'm guessing that I could simply make layers 'Dims1', 'Dims2' & 'Dims3' then have them only show up in the appropriate Viewports, but is there another or more appropriate way of doing this?

I hope I have explained this so that you understand what I am after.

craigr

ronjonp

• Needs a day job
Re: New to Multiple Viewport - Display Question
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 10:19:43 AM »
Not sure if LT supports this, but you can control layers per viewport when you are in floating modelspace. make sure VISRETAIN is set to 1 or you will lose the settings upon reopen.

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

Bethrine

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2014, 10:35:32 AM »
I put all my dim's on paper space, outside of the viewport.

craigr

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2014, 10:36:38 AM »
Yes, I have heard some people do this, but for our Purposes, we ALWAYS do them within the Viewport.

Bethrine

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2014, 10:38:13 AM »
I don't know too much about it, but I would look into the annotative scale function.

craigr