Author Topic: Learn XRefs??  (Read 7909 times)

craigr

Learn XRefs??
« on: June 26, 2006, 10:56:22 AM »
I am somewhat embarrassed to ask this, but.....

Where is a good place to learn about XRefs? I have been pretty much self taught in AutoCad, (with much help from you folks), but never saw the need to learn XRefs).

I believe I understand the concept, but would like to learn the do's & Don'ts of them, & how to set up and maintain them.

We currently use NO XRefs, but believe they would save alot of time on some of our sites that we use floor plans for.

Any advice is very much appreciated,
craigr

Greg B

• Seagull
  • Tell me a Joke!
Re: Learn XRefs??
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2006, 12:00:59 PM »
I'm going to say that with a few easy examples that AutoCAD users post on this site, you can get a better understanding of how to use them effectively in your drawings.  Once you're at that point, it's a lot of self-taught learning to make the best use of it for your own situation.  I personally thinking using any bought resource is a waste of money for something like xref's.

I'd give you more xref information, but my information would be faulty as it's for a different CAD Package.

Gluck!

hudster

• Gator
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2006, 12:13:53 PM »
What do you want to know, we use Xrefs on every project that has a floor plan.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

PHX cadie

• Water Moccasin
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2006, 12:46:24 PM »
We are very similar, (no insult intended). I'm self taught and the Navy never used Xrefs, so my first job with a real Eng firm was OJT.
Think the first thing learned was to use title blocks as Xrefs. Saves allot of time on 50/100 sheets when a city Engineer doesn't like a word in the title.
As much as poss Xref at 0,0,0 and 1:1, (not poss when Xref'ing Eng dwg's to Arch dwgs, but 0,0 and 1:1 will save alot of frustration if a Xref is lost and import print setups)