Author Topic: Object Collections vs Lists of Object References  (Read 3232 times)

Ben Clark

• Newt
Object Collections vs Lists of Object References
« on: December 31, 2017, 12:05:02 AM »
When manipulating properties on graphical entities in a user defined selection set, it seems easiest and best to convert that into a lisp list of the vla object references and go from there. This way you can exploit all lisp has to offer as far as list processing.

I'm new to collections and am wondering if it's possible and worth it to instead create an object collection out of those objects and use vlax-for etc. to manipulate the properties in various ways.

It seems that collections are almost always obtained by functions like vla-get-layers and so on. I don't think I've ever seen anyone create a collection out of objects but I may be wrong.

I'm mainly wondering if there could be some advantage to creating a collection that I'm not seeing and operating on that instead of just a list of object refs.

Tharwat

• Swamp Rat
  • Hypersensitive
Re: Object Collections vs Lists of Object References
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 12:40:36 AM »
Hi,

The name of ObjectCollection is used in .NET programming languages or at least I am aware of that it is in C# but lists used in AutoLISP as well but with different call or collection that it does not need to specify the type of the list as in C# or other .NET languages.

As long as you have a selection set of entities then there is no need to obtain them in a list to iterate through each entity so you just need to iterate through each entity individually and the list is not required at all in this case unless you want to use it for a specific task or so.

Hope this clear.

kdub_nz

• Mesozoic keyThumper
  • SuperMod
  • Water Moccasin
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2017, 12:41:35 AM »
Jürg Menzi has a collection of ActiveX VisualLisp derived methods that may be worth studying.