Author Topic: CAD version without opening the drawing?  (Read 8619 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vinnyg

  • Guest
CAD version without opening the drawing?
« on: January 09, 2006, 01:10:28 PM »
Hi,

I'm not new to acad, but I wasn't sure where to put this. I get drawings from
consultants and periodically, I can't open them even after I ask that they save to
the version I use. The question I have is there anyway I can find out exactly
what version they send me without opening the drawing (since I can't)?

vinnyg


Changed Subject Title: CAB
« Last Edit: March 24, 2006, 04:09:02 PM by CAB »

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 01:14:21 PM »
What is the error message you receive?

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: acad version?
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2006, 01:15:56 PM »
Pick your flavour --

Visual LISP.

Visual BASIC.
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Dent Cermak

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2006, 01:17:26 PM »
Better yet, download this FREE software and don't worry about it.

http://www.dwggateway.com/pages/products/

Opens ALL versions of Autocad and makes good pdf files too.

vinnyg

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2006, 01:26:42 PM »
Thanks everyone for your help/suggestions.

M-dub

Message is:  drawing incompatible (or something similar)

Thanks again

vinnyg

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2006, 01:31:26 PM »
I was just confirming that compatibility was in fact the issue.

Guess it was ;)

vinnyg

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2006, 01:38:40 PM »
Dent,

I downloaded the free application you posted, but for some reason, it
will not work.......any ideas why?

thanks,

vinnyg

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: acad version?
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2006, 01:40:24 PM »
You can open the drawing in Notepad and the first line will give you the drawing version.

It will read AC1*...the number corresponds to thae version (refer to MP's post for what the numbers mean).

I use DWGIcon....for an easy visual indicator of DWG version.
http://www.cushat.co.uk/fw/di/

Ron


Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

Tramber

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2006, 01:52:54 PM »
Brilliant

Another link to a prog made y a friend of mine.
A very good and simple utility

There also is a single document versionhere.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: acad version?
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2006, 02:56:38 PM »
You can open the drawing in Notepad and the first line will give you the drawing version.

It will read AC1*...the number corresponds to thae version (refer to MP's post for what the numbers mean).

I use DWGIcon....for an easy visual indicator of DWG version.
http://www.cushat.co.uk/fw/di/

Ron



Hi Ron...

After installing this program...
I have rebooted my PC...
and now each time than I reboot...
I have this error message...

so I have uninstall the progam....clean my registry with some cleaner program,...execute spybot and adaware.
but not seem to resolved the problem.

Keep smile...

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: acad version?
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2006, 03:07:12 PM »
Andrea,

That's strange...I've been using this utility for nearly 2 years now with no problems. I would suggest emailing the author. His address is in the readme.txt file.

Ron

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

Dent Cermak

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2006, 07:22:44 PM »
Dent,

I downloaded the free application you posted, but for some reason, it
will not work.......any ideas why?

thanks,

vinnyg

Mine works just fine. I don't know what the problem may be. Try downloading it again. Maybe there was a "burp" during the first download.

Tramber

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2006, 05:52:21 AM »
If you got any problem, try mine, it is terribly efficient.


vinnyg

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2006, 10:00:41 AM »
DENT,

I was doing something wrong at first try, works fine now.

Thanks for the tip.

vinnyg

Dent Cermak

  • Guest
Re: acad version?
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2006, 08:30:28 PM »
I'm glad it finally worked for you. I really like thatb program. You will find that it makes really good pdf's too.

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #15 on: December 16, 2014, 09:50:29 AM »
Holy Thread Resurrection....
I tried the link to get to the program on this thread, and I get a UK Adidas shopping web page.
I tried several times, different ways.


Does anyone have a better link, or a better program or suggestion to find the version of AutoCAD while browsing though hundreds of .dwg files?


Thanks in advance.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12912
  • London, England
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2014, 09:57:31 AM »
This function could be called by an appropriate program to query a set of drawings in a directory.

rkmcswain

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 978
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2014, 10:19:07 AM »
You can open the drawing in Notepad and the first line will give you the drawing version.


That is what I always do.

AC1027 AutoCAD 2014
AC1027 AutoCAD 2013
AC1024 AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012
AC1021 AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009
AC1018 AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006
AC1015 AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002
AC1014 Release 14
AC1012 Release 13
AC1009 Release 11/12
AC1006 Release 10
AC1004 Release 9
AC1003 Version 2.60
AC1002 Version 2.50
AC1001 Version 2.22
AC2.22 Version 2.22
AC2.21 Version 2.21
AC2.10 Version 2.10
AC1.50 Version 2.05
AC1.40 Version 1.40
AC1.2 Version 1.2
MC0.0 Version 1.0

(Partial copy from http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_the_lines/autocad-release-history.html )

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2014, 10:30:45 AM »
Thanks guys.
RK, I saw this before (you had a post in AUGI too), very valuable, but trying to do this without "opening" the file(s).


Lee, I'll see what I can do with this, looks promising.


Thanks again.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

rkmcswain

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 978
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2014, 10:43:23 AM »
RK, I saw this before (you had a post in AUGI too), very valuable, but trying to do this without "opening" the file(s).

Apologies. I thought you meant "open" using CAD.
I didn't realize you meant every kind of "open"
 :angel:

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2014, 10:53:53 AM »
RK, I saw this before (you had a post in AUGI too), very valuable, but trying to do this without "opening" the file(s).

Apologies. I thought you meant "open" using CAD.
I didn't realize you meant every kind of "open"
 :angel:
LOL, no problem.
The problem I'm trying to help with is we have like 400+ dwg files, and some (we're told) are version 2007 (which they're not supposed to be) and we want to browse them and find out what version they are.


I guess opening them in notepad is not much different then finding properties on them.


Lee's link is helpful, but I don't quite know what to do with it, a bit over my head.


The program mentioned in this thread seemed promising for browsing to the files and seeing what version they are.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #21 on: December 16, 2014, 10:58:44 AM »
Update...
I've been told there is an windows explorer add-on that will show the file version as one of the options that can be shown.
I don't know what it is yet, but I saw the results on someones's screen.


I'll keep you posted.

Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

PHX cadie

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1902
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #22 on: December 16, 2014, 12:16:16 PM »
Update...
I've been told there is an windows explorer add-on that will show the file version as one of the options that can be shown.
.........
I'll keep you posted.

Pls do, that would be cool
Acad 2013 and XM
Back when High Tech meant you had an adjustable triangle

hugha

  • Newt
  • Posts: 103
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2014, 05:23:17 AM »
Quote
The problem I'm trying to help with is we have like 400+ dwg files, and some (we're told) are version 2007 (which they're not supposed to be) and we want to browse them and find out what version they are.



http://www.mythicsoft.com/filelocatorlite


This is a brilliant product.  Their Pro version has even more flexibility:

http://www.mythicsoft.com/filelocatorlite/features

basically once you've set a set of search trees and filename masks and optionally a search string just hit start and wait a little. You'll have your list within minutes of installation (within seconds with practice, once your MRUs get populated).

You can then open the files directly off the found list or explore the containing directory ...

I use the Lite version constantly checking file dates to monitor workflow. Did I say I think it's brilliant?

hth

Hugh






« Last Edit: December 17, 2014, 05:29:28 AM by hugha »

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: CAD version without opening the drawing?
« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2014, 07:59:01 AM »
Update...
I've been told there is an windows explorer add-on that will show the file version as one of the options that can be shown.
.........
I'll keep you posted.

Pls do, that would be cool


This is what I was referring to, it is an Autodesk exchange App.
You need an Autodesk account, and you can download a free trial version.
It gives you lots of options to show AutoCAD data in your explorer columns, I just chose "DWG version" but there's more.
https://apps.exchange.autodesk.com/ACD/Detail/Index?id=appstore.exchange.autodesk.com:dwgcolumnsforexplorerfree:en
Hope this helps someone, it did what I needed it to do.


PS, thanks to hugha for posting another option too.

Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023