Author Topic: ProgeCAD LT 2006  (Read 6914 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
ProgeCAD LT 2006
« on: October 11, 2005, 06:04:03 AM »
Has anyone had any experience of this program? http://www.progecad.com/ Mark posted the link on here.

I'm looking for a program for light CAD users, site operators & engineers to use, ProgeCAD LT 2006 sounds ideal, retains xrefs, plots to PDF, and DWF, handles images etc etc.
But I've never used it, or know anyone who has, we need to expand our CAD capability to include all engineers and want to do it as cheaply as possible without losing AutoCAD drawing support.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2005, 06:47:02 AM »
I installed and tested ( not thoroughly ) that and the CADOpia Standard version last Friday. The CADopia version was much more stable on my machine. CADopia also didn't have any problems reading/writing to a file created in C3D 2006.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2005, 07:01:02 AM »
i'm in the process of downloading the pro version, i'll let you know how it went.
I've also downloaded the LT version for evaluation.

Never heard of CADOpia, is that any good?
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Swift

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 596
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2005, 08:08:08 AM »
I have the pro windows version of BricsCad . Yes, I said 'pro Windows' because they also have a Linux version!

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2005, 08:32:03 AM »
Never heard of CADOpia, is that any good?

I thought so. It also includes autolisp.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Swift

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 596
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2005, 08:35:47 AM »
I was under the impression that all the flavors of Intellicad included autolisp and s(a)ds( or lisp in c)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2005, 08:39:27 AM »
yup, just tried it, the LT version does lisp.

Man it's good, i can't see a reason not for our company to switch to this for lite users/engineers to use.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2005, 08:56:52 AM »
Downloading BricsCad V6 Pro now!!
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2005, 09:11:28 AM »
Found the first problem, my custom menus don't work because it wont recognise the ^C^C$I=ANDY.REV $i=* command, there must be a way round it though.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2005, 10:34:41 AM »
ThingsToDoWhenIHaveTime.Add ( "Download BricsCAD" ) ;
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Dinosaur

  • Guest
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2005, 10:39:36 AM »
Downloading BricsCad V6 Pro now!!
BricsCad is solid enough that EaglePoint has an option to use its engine instead of AutoCAD.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2005, 10:40:02 AM »
Bugger, I was to be upgraded to AutoCAD 2006, now I may be getting ProgeCAD pro 2006, it's only 180, compared to the big outlay for AutoCAD we can equip the whole company for about the same as 1 AutoCAD seat.

I can't complain though, at least I'm getting upgraded.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

t-bear

  • Guest
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2005, 10:58:39 AM »
The only bug-a-boo I found with ProgiCAD was its inability to handle custom menus.  If someone finds differently, please let me know.  Other than that, it was very much an ACAD clone.....icons, toolbars...lisp routines, everything. I had no problem going from one to the other, opening ACAD dwgs in P-CAD & visa versa.  An excellent proggy for the $$$.

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2005, 11:02:42 AM »
Have any bitheads downloaded / installed this BricsCAD yet?

I'd like to know how well it does lisp, like entmake, xdata, dictionaries, ssget filtering, mapcar, lambda, apply, atoms-family etc. Obviously vl-stuff is out, but how robust is the vanilla lisp, that'd be the question.

Thanks.
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Swift

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 596
Re: ProgeCAD LT 2006
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2005, 11:06:16 AM »
I don't use lisp much (any) but the vba interface is very similar to acad.

Only problem I have with bricscad is my mouse pointer is extremely slow across the window and for the life of me I can't determine why.