Author Topic: [POLL] Monitor Resolution  (Read 3507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
[POLL] Monitor Resolution
« on: September 07, 2005, 05:06:10 AM »
I'm ecstatic with the new forum.
 .. particularly with the code pane size. {yeah, I know thats not the only reason we are here}

I'm wondering what peeps are looking at the forum with ...

< No Dent .. eyes isn't an option..>

[The poll allows for 2 votes .. size and quantum]

Please vote < even lurkers > 'cause I want to satisfy a mental itch, and the results may also help Mark T. 

ta
kwb

oh, you'll need to log in to vote ..
Comments appreciated.
bragging  not necessary :-D
« Last Edit: September 07, 2005, 05:15:58 AM by Kerry Brown »
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2846
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2005, 05:09:52 AM »
I'm using 1280 on a 19 inch LCD dell monitor. :mrgreen:

The only good thing about my system. :-(
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 05:12:38 AM »
Hi Hudster ,

Ram and graphics is the core though, isn't it ..

Can you add a vote to single Monitor too then { as well as your 1280 }
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28685
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2005, 07:07:04 AM »
I actually have two different resolutions. 20" LCD = 1600, 21" CRT = 1280.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28685
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2005, 07:17:00 AM »
BTW Kerry, how'd you get the two options in the poll? Very cool!!
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2005, 07:30:21 AM »
Poll Options:  [2] Maximum votes per user.

Just guessed  :-)

Though that still requires the voter to NOT be a little silly ..
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

hendie

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2005, 07:51:42 AM »
1280 AND 2 19" TFT monitors ~ excellent stuff ~ except I really feel the pain when I have to use a sinlge 17" at home

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2005, 08:02:44 AM »
1280 - 19" CRT

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16721
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2005, 08:21:29 AM »
20" tft @ 1280 (work)
19" crt @ 1280 (home)
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10365
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2005, 08:42:01 AM »
For those who use 2 monitors, do you put the icons on one & the drawing area on the other?

Looking at the LCD monitors in the store the text is not as clean as with my old CRT,
especially black on white. It has a distorted look to me.
Maybe because you see the pixels more clearly.
Anyone else have that problem or is it my old eyes?

I use a HP C5211A 19" 1280 res.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2005, 08:49:04 AM »
The LCD screens have an optimal resolution and if it is set to anything else, fonts and well...everything will have a fuzzy look to it.  You'd think the people trying to sell the stuff would try to show it at its best!

hendie

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2005, 09:04:34 AM »
For those who use 2 monitors, do you put the icons on one & the drawing area on the other?

Looking at the LCD monitors in the store the text is not as clean as with my old CRT,
especially black on white. It has a distorted look to me.
I use Autocad along with Adept ~ both full screen apps , so a monitor each.
I did try using different bits of Autocad on the other monitor but weird things happened ~ dialogs would never centre on screen, and if I had a drop down in the dialog, the drop down contents would appear on the other monitor. Same thing also happened with Access, so I guess the technology is still relatively new and has some stuff to get sorted out yet.

Dunno about the distortion though, my monitors are absolutely crystal clear

CmdrDuh

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4039
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2005, 10:14:05 AM »
2x 21" 1600 on both
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2005, 10:26:42 AM »
21" & 20" [ really old CRT heat boxes ] plugged straight into a nVidia GeForce FX 5200

Can run at 1600 but 1280 seems to suit my eyes better.  Perhaps if the gear was newer ...

FWIW the responses are of the order I expected. We'll see how it pans out in a coupla' days.


Added :
Usually I run Acad on One and Programming tools spread across both ..

For drafting .. Acad across both with toolbars, palettes, etc on the smaller .. Seems to work fine.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2005, 10:31:23 AM by Kerry Brown »
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

Gliderider

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2005, 11:22:21 AM »
21" & 17" CRT, 1280 on both. 2nd for properties and text windows mainly, sometimes excel.

Jeff_M

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3944
  • C3D user & customizer
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2005, 12:13:13 PM »
I travel so much that my laptop has become my only working computer. It is a 15"LCD with max resolution of 1024. It is still clearer than my old 17" CRT, and with no flicker it's a lot easier on my eyes.

Graldensblud

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2005, 12:24:16 PM »
well i'm awkward and have my CRT set to 1152x whatever that works out as. No poll option for that! 1280x1024 is too small for my eyesight, 1024x276 too big to work with. :roll:

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7027
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2005, 12:28:18 PM »
1280X1024 dual 19" lcd's

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2020

Custom Build PC

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17448
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2005, 04:28:32 PM »
1280 x 1024 dual 19" lcd's at work.

1024 x 768 single 17" lcd at home.
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|Oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox

Big Boi

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2005, 05:48:21 PM »
What do you guys do to talk your emloyer into buying you two monitors. There ain't enough butts to kiss around here to get that.  :?

Chuck Gabriel

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2005, 06:40:35 PM »
At work I run two 19" CRT's at 1024x768.
At home I run one 19" LCD at 1280x1024.

JCappiello

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2005, 08:24:23 AM »
Compaq Laptop (15.1" @ 1400) on a port replicator with OLD NEC MutliSync P1150 @ 1600.

Lobbying for a nice Dell 19" Flat Panel.

Bob Wahr

  • Guest
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2005, 03:18:33 PM »
The two options I picked were 1024 and 1280 because my resolution is 1024X1280.  Single 19" right now dual 19" in the near future.

MvdP

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 261
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2005, 03:30:15 PM »
1280x1024 ona 21" CRT.
AutoCAD 2012
Revit 2013
W7 pro x64
******************

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2005, 04:10:39 PM »
hmmmm ..
37 responses

42 resolutions
30 monitors

oh, dear ...
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28685
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2005, 05:55:04 PM »
Good poll Kerry, I believe that's a record for theswamp.  8-)

TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16721
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2005, 06:58:17 PM »
Well, I didn't choose a single or dual monitor monitor so that is part of the discrepancy .. after all you didn't say we HAD to ...
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #27 on: September 08, 2005, 07:05:49 PM »
Hi Keith,
Thats not the issue ..
I'd assumed that if Dual wasn't noted then single applied.
ie : because 15 selected dual the remaining 22 use single

The variance comes from some people voting for 2 resolutions.
ie : if 37 voted there should be 37 resolutions selected not 42
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16721
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2005, 07:12:05 PM »
Ah .. I see ... Maybe they have 2 monitor resolutions .. one at home and one at work ...
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2005, 07:17:28 PM »
Perhaps ..
I thought I had it covered
Quote
Question: What's your current monitor resolution ? 


I guess I hadn't allowed for a few things.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

DinØsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #30 on: September 08, 2005, 07:24:43 PM »
Ah .. I see ... Maybe they have 2 monitor resolutions .. one at home and one at work ...
And then there are those who have THREE with software that gives each one four virtual desktops.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2007, 12:03:49 AM by DinØsaur »
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The DinØsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !

Crank

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1441
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #31 on: September 10, 2005, 10:08:52 AM »
And then there are those who have THREE with software that gives each one four virtual desktops.

How about something like this? :D
« Last Edit: April 13, 2007, 12:04:20 AM by DinØsaur »

 Vault Professional 2018     /      Building Design Suite Ultimate 2017     /     AEC Collection 2018 + 2019 +2020

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28685
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #32 on: September 10, 2005, 01:00:28 PM »
And then there are IT fools like mine who have THREE with software that gives each one four virtual desktops.
Quote

Every *nix window manager has this ability. I currently use 4 on my PC, with fluxbox.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

DinØsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: [POLL] Monitor Resolution
« Reply #33 on: September 10, 2005, 02:37:19 PM »
Every *nix window manager has this ability. I currently use 4 on my PC, with fluxbox.
The only thing about this guy is he will load a drawing into several of his 12 desktops and then go home with his computer on "hibernate" so they are still locked.  Even if I can boot his computer, it takes quite a while to navigate through his active stuff and close out the drawing I need to work on and not screw up what he is doing.
His three monitors BTW are a 21" Dell CRT and two 19" flat panels.  He had to disable half the lights in his office to overcome the glare.
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The DinØsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !