Author Topic: Hide then Show dialog box  (Read 4501 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jonathann3891

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Hide then Show dialog box
« on: July 27, 2022, 01:58:59 PM »
I am looking to make some improvements to my dimension note utility but I'm a little stuck.

I would like my dialog box to hide while selecting dimensions then reappear. I'd also like for the selection OR the inputted note to show when it reappears.
How can I accomplish that?

I've only been able to find a few examples online but nothing that was abundantly clear to me.

Aside from that if anyone has any input to improve the code (this is still a work in progress) please feel free. I love constructive criticism.

Thanks!


VovKa

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1626
  • Ukraine
Re: Hide then Show dialog box
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2022, 02:21:41 PM »
i don't think you can 'hide' a modal dialog
you can close and then reopen it

jonathann3891

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Re: Hide then Show dialog box
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2022, 04:05:29 PM »
You are correct. Trying to hide it hangs up AutoCAD, which I learned earlier today.

I tried showing showing the dialog box at the end of but it flashes and disappears. So that's what I'm trying to learn how to do.

VovKa

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1626
  • Ukraine
Re: Hide then Show dialog box
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2022, 04:21:22 PM »
here's how it's done with dcl https://www.afralisp.net/dialog-control-language/tutorials/hiding-dialog-boxes.php
you'll have to use the same approach

dgpuertas

  • Newt
  • Posts: 80
Re: Hide then Show dialog box
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2022, 06:44:12 AM »
I use something similar to:

(setq show T)
(setq var "34")
(while show

   (setq show nil)
   (on iniciate dialog put value var into dialog)
   (show dialog) -> into the dialog a put function to close dialog or if necesary (close dialog, select elements point whatever... and put show to T)
   if var change when dialog appears the new value of var is correct.

)




kdub_nz

  • Mesozoic keyThumper
  • SuperMod
  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2121
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Hide then Show dialog box
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2022, 04:12:12 PM »
You are correct. Trying to hide it hangs up AutoCAD, which I learned earlier today.

I tried showing showing the dialog box at the end of but it flashes and disappears. So that's what I'm trying to learn how to do.

This may help.
Called Kerry in my other life
Retired; but they dragged me back in !

I live at UTC + 13.00

---
some people complain about loading the dishwasher.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer.