Author Topic: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open  (Read 361 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mailmaverick

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 465
AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« on: July 18, 2020, 04:15:15 AM »
Hi,

I have recently installed AutoCAD 2021 64 Bit and since then it consumed approx 30% of my CPU continuously.
What could be the reason and solution for this ?

Crank

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1453
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 04:38:17 AM »
There is a good chance this has something to do with the license manager. After the last update I've seen inexplicable delays and high CPU use.
Vault Professional 2018     +     AEC Collection

Dlanor

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 236
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2020, 04:45:25 AM »
I had a similar problem for weeks, and it was all down to a new application needing a firewall rule.  :crazy2:

mailmaverick

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 465
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2020, 07:41:11 AM »
I had a similar problem for weeks, and it was all down to a new application needing a firewall rule.  :crazy2:

You mean I need to add a Firewall Rule for AutoCAD ? If yes, then please let me know how to do that.
Thanks.

Dlanor

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 236
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2020, 12:45:59 PM »
I can only speak for the firewall I run (zonealarm free). The License Manager, AutoCAD and several other related programs each had seperate entries. Although these were marked as "Trusted", it wasn't allowing these programs unfettered Inward or Outward access to my system or to the Internet in general. I had to manually select "allow" or "deny" as it defaulted to "ask" for each of the 4 options (System out, Internet out, System in and Internet in). The problem was I wasn't getting asked. Found out later I could have run a diagnostic tool that would have automated it and solved the not "asking" popups.


mailmaverick

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 465
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2020, 02:43:12 AM »
Even after lot of juggling, still not able to resolve this issue. Any suggestions from members ?

w64bit

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 12
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2020, 08:03:47 AM »
Try renaming AdDownloaderCore.dll to AdDownloaderCore.dll.OLD
Explanation here (search for AdDownloaderCore):

http://docs.autodesk.com/MAP/2013/ENU/files/readme-map.htm

mailmaverick

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 465
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2020, 04:56:35 AM »
VOILA !!! Solved the problem. Thanks a ton !!!!

Crank

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1453
Re: AutoCAD using CPU when No File is Open
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2020, 06:59:06 AM »
Quote
In some cases, connecting to a data source with the FDO ArcGIS provider can cause the AutoCAD materials library downloader to go into a loop. If you notice slowdown on your system after connecting to an ArcGIS source, use this workaround to disable the materials library downloader.
This is on the HELP of 2013. How many years do they need to solve this?
Vault Professional 2018     +     AEC Collection