Author Topic: Automatic dimensioning lines  (Read 1216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Automatic dimensioning lines
« on: June 25, 2019, 06:46:07 AM »
Hello all,

I must dimension thousands of plans using reference lines in them. Those lines cut walls and I have to dimension them.
I would like to select all reference lines in one time and auto dimesion all spaces between lines.

I am attaching a sample drawing.
Thanks all

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2019, 06:52:30 AM »
Hello all,

Any ideas for the issue?

VovKa

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1153
  • Ukraine
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2019, 09:19:29 AM »
Any ideas for the issue?
it can not be done automatically with standard acad commands
so
the most obvious idea is... write a function which will analyze your drawing and insert dimensions

Dahzee

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 19
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2019, 11:56:56 AM »
Would this program be of any use to you?

https://www.woopaloo.com/en/apps/dimbycutline

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2019, 04:21:01 AM »
Any ideas for the issue?
it can not be done automatically with standard acad commands
so
the most obvious idea is... write a function which will analyze your drawing and insert dimensions

Hello,

Yes I know i will need a function, but I do not know much

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2019, 04:23:31 AM »
Would this program be of any use to you?

https://www.woopaloo.com/en/apps/dimbycutline

Hello,

Yes it's a interesting code. You select the line and make the dimensions.

But my issue is a little bit more complicated. I draw all lines and then I select them in order to create dimensions (eve if lines are swerved, as shown in drawing)

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1447
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2019, 02:27:32 PM »
Should preface that the DWG file was created with a student edition of AutoCAD. If you're truly doing thousands of drawings it does not immediately sound like a "student".

Would "continuing" or "chaining" the dimension be similar to what you are after? There is going to be a bit of manual labor still required.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2019, 02:31:38 PM by Master_Shake »

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2019, 06:12:28 PM »
Should preface that the DWG file was created with a student edition of AutoCAD. If you're truly doing thousands of drawings it does not immediately sound like a "student".

Would "continuing" or "chaining" the dimension be similar to what you are after? There is going to be a bit of manual labor still required.

Hello,

I made the drawing at home. I cant make it at office hehe (obviously)

Anyway, dimensions must be continuing with each other. if possible, as showed in the sample.

Thanks,

BIGAL

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 320
  • 30 + years of using Autocad
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2019, 12:46:35 AM »
Yes it can be done pick say left, pick right pick where do you want dimensions. Its available but not free very cheap. Post if you want more info.
A man who never made a mistake never made anything

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2019, 05:50:29 AM »
Hello,


Could I test your code once?

BIGAL

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 320
  • 30 + years of using Autocad
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2019, 01:44:20 AM »
I will put something together for you to try, are you metric or feet.
A man who never made a mistake never made anything

renkor

  • Newt
  • Posts: 27
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2019, 05:14:30 PM »
I will put something together for you to try, are you metric or feet.

Hello,

I am metric.

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17454
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2019, 05:30:34 PM »
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|Oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox

m4rdy

  • Newt
  • Posts: 62
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2019, 06:09:26 AM »
Maybe this :
Lee Mac on https://www.cadtutor.net/forum/topic/22726-dimension-intersection/page/2/#comments
BeekeeCZ on ://forums.autodesk.com/t5/visual-lisp-autolisp-and-general/lisp-for-creating-dimension-at-intersections-of-selected-lines/td-p/6800455

Autocad 2007, Windows XP

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1992
Re: Automatic dimensioning lines
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2019, 01:16:14 PM »
Lee

I like your dimensioning routine. Thanks for sharing...
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2019x64 Windows 10x64