Author Topic: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D  (Read 285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mailmaverick

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 415
Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« on: November 17, 2018, 01:38:40 PM »
Anyone working here on pressure pipe networks in Civil 3D ?

I have a drawing containing multiple LINES having different Z-coordinate of Start and End Points, representing start and end elevations. Also, each line has pipe diameter data stored in form of Object Tables (GIS Data). All the LINES are connected to each other as a network.

How to convert all LINES to a Pressure Pipe Network ?


Rod

  • Newt
  • Posts: 94
Re: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2018, 06:53:38 PM »
Maybe like this?
export to .shp file using "mapexport"
then import as pipe network using "aeccimportgisdata"
Standing on the toes of giants.

mailmaverick

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 415
Re: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2018, 08:49:45 AM »
Thanks for your reply. I did this. But civil3D imports pipes as gravity network, not pressure pipe network. Don't know why.

Willie

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 953
  • Going nowhere slowly
Re: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2018, 09:50:45 AM »
If you join all the lines to polylines, how many wold you end up with?

If it is not to many polylines, I would create 3D polylines from the lines (use data extraction to get the coordinates into excel and script the 3D polylines into C3D), and create the pressure network of each 3D polyline.

Soli Deo Gloria | Qui Audet Adipiscitur
Windows 8  64-bit Enterprise | Civil 3D 2015 and 2016| ArcGIS 10.1
Yogi Berra : "I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous."

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14384
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2018, 11:33:07 AM »


Might try to 'cheat'

Export your lines with object data as shp file

use method above to import the shp file and create "gravity" network using a centerline only pipe style

this should preserve your vertice elevations


EXPLODE *shudder* the pipe network

then use _CreatePressureNetworkfromObj
to then create the pressure network....

Or just create the network from objects to start with?

Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Rod

  • Newt
  • Posts: 94
Re: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2018, 04:04:04 PM »
Can you post the DWG or a part of it?
Standing on the toes of giants.

Rod

  • Newt
  • Posts: 94
Re: Pressure Pipe Network Civil 3D
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2018, 08:40:18 PM »
Still Guessing

Create and Industry model from objects
Create pressure network from industry model
Standing on the toes of giants.