Author Topic: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout  (Read 519 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jlogan02

  • Newt
  • Posts: 83
Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« on: November 09, 2018, 11:50:54 AM »
I have created several blocks with wipeouts. When I hatch the block using a select object method the hatch doesn't appear and can't be selected to bring to front.
If I use the pick inside object method it still doesn't appear but I can hover the mouse over the area that contains the hatch to select it and bring to front.

I followed these steps to create my blocks on layer "0"
Created the line work for the block on defpoints layer
Created the wipeout using the line work.
Moved the wipeout to side of block
Moved the block on top of wipeout to insure draw order.
Wblock and saved.

I can get it to work if every time I hatch I go through the settings and ensure the highlighted options are set. Maybe this is how it's supposed to work. I don't know.

Any ideas on what would cause this. I do not have AutoCAD Sketchbook loaded which has been an issue according to the world wide webs.

J. Logan
ACAD 2018
J. Logan
ACAD 2018

I am one with the Force and the Force is with me.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14436
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 12:47:30 PM »
stop drawing anything on DEFPOINTS layer, that layer is ONLY for autocad to use, not the user.

place object on a no-plot layer if you must....however, as you are then using the data to make a wipeout there should be no need to place it anywhere other than layer zero(0)

from your settings...island detection seems like it would be your preferred method for the hatch object(s)  not ignoring them,
given your geometry is drawn well enough.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 803
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2018, 08:12:44 AM »
stop drawing anything on DEFPOINTS layer, that layer is ONLY for autocad to use, not the user.


+1 (x 1000)


As soon as AutoCAD came up with the ability to make a layer non-plot-able, (version 2000 I believe) defpoints shouldn't be used for anything.
We used to use it for viewports back in the day, R12 -R14.


But I still see people using it in cad work or notes to drafter or whatever, and it makes me sad.
Windows 7 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2017, REVIT 2017, Inventor Professional 2015

BIGAL

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 248
  • 30 + years of using Autocad
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2018, 08:32:41 PM »
I have an image a wipeout and line work, I copy the area for the wipeout to one side a fixed amount make the wipeout then copy it back to correct location. as part of making wipeout you erase the shape. Doing draw order in the correct sequence is important.

send to back wipeout
send to back image

This produce a hole in the image but with the lines appearing in the image, sounds like what your trying to do.
A man who never made a mistake never made anything

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28670
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2018, 07:57:15 AM »
I don't use wipeouts anymore. Never did like those damn things.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6879
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2018, 09:14:06 AM »
I don't use wipeouts anymore. Never did like those damn things.
Same here .. had issues with them plotting black half the time. Now I use a solid hatch that is color 255,255,255.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2019

Custom Build PC

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28670
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2018, 09:28:45 AM »
I don't use wipeouts anymore. Never did like those damn things.
Same here .. had issues with them plotting black half the time. Now I use a solid hatch that is color 255,255,255.
I use a hatch on a non-plotting layer. :)
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6021
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2018, 10:19:07 AM »
I don't use wipeouts anymore. Never did like those damn things.
Same here .. had issues with them plotting black half the time. Now I use a solid hatch that is color 255,255,255.
That happens in 2016 and newer if a wipeout is in a xref and XREFOVVERIDE = 1. The only remedy I know of is putting wipeout on layer with color 255,255,255.

Bryco

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1846
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2018, 11:52:02 AM »
acad 2019 here. The hatch does not show but I can single click it every time and bring it to the front with draw order. I actually have a short cut df for draw order front. I find the solid hatch to slow down the drawing far more than a wipeout (which is using 225,225,225)

jlogan02

  • Newt
  • Posts: 83
Re: Hatch draw order in block with a wipeout
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2018, 03:58:33 PM »
All works fine in the drawing using the solid hatch with color 255,255,255 method. However, when I go to print it, the lines that should be hidden are not.

Edit: To be clear, when I insert my blocks into my drawing I then hatch them again with a different hatch. Bring to front that hatch above the block. that shouldn't effect anything though.

HPDRAWORDER = 3.
CTB = all colors are set to GRAYSCALE "OFF"
« Last Edit: November 14, 2018, 04:03:02 PM by jlogan02 »
J. Logan
ACAD 2018

I am one with the Force and the Force is with me.