Author Topic: Mtext  (Read 641 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fish

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Mtext
« on: November 05, 2018, 02:00:00 PM »
Hello all, I'm hoping someone can shed some light on this for me.  AutoCad 2018 Lt, I'm in mtext and my text appears with these big open spaces between some of the words, I cannot control them or know how to delete them.  I don't see any tabs or other kind of formatting to cause this.  We just updated to 2018 from 2007 so its a little different than what i'm use to.  Does anyone have any ideas?  Please see attachment and thanks!

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1439
Re: Mtext
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 02:17:29 PM »
Are you sure it's not an excessive quantity of space characters? Adjust the width of the mText and see what/where the lines go.

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1099
Re: Mtext
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2018, 02:47:19 PM »
Looks like extra carriage returns....
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

fish

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Re: Mtext
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2018, 03:05:39 PM »
Nope, not extra carriage returns.  See the attached pdf for what happened after I deleted the space following the words bolts and rods.

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6995
Re: Mtext
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2018, 03:24:10 PM »
Maybe post the drawing.

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2020

Custom Build PC

Bryco

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1848
Re: Mtext
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2018, 03:28:27 PM »
TRY killing the ruler, I hate the ruler

fish

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Re: Mtext
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2018, 03:34:26 PM »
Its extremely frustrating, even new mtext has this behavior.  Could this be happening because some of the old text was first generated in 2007?

fish

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Re: Mtext
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2018, 03:47:42 PM »
Thats what it is, 2018 is not liking the way it was first generated in 2007.  I opened it in 2007 (after save as to older version) and the mtext is perfect.  Just great, nice update... :x

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17369
Re: Mtext
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2018, 04:00:18 PM »
TRY killing the ruler, I hate the ruler

\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|Oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox

Bryco

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1848
Re: Mtext
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2018, 04:04:40 PM »
Did you try setting the mtext ruler to nothing (drag it left).  I see it in the pdf

Manimalcracker

  • Newt
  • Posts: 125
Re: Mtext
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2018, 04:06:10 PM »
If all else fails, copy/paste to a notepad then paste it back into AutoCAD. It'll dump any weird formatting.

fish

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 9
Re: Mtext
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2018, 04:13:10 PM »
Killing the ruler didn't work but taking the ruler to nothing is much better, at least I can manipulate it now.  I tried to use the old mtext editor via the mtexted command and typed in oldeditor and that did very bad things to my drawing...

Anways its somewhat workable now thanks to all!