Author Topic: Error: Component not correctly registered  (Read 350 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16623
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Error: Component not correctly registered
« on: February 09, 2018, 03:33:05 PM »
I have several VBA utilities that have been around for many years, suddenly they will not load.
The last time I was able to successfully load AutoCAD without errors was on December 21, 2017.
I've uninstalled and re-installed and that hasn't resolved the issue.

Using A2k7 on Win10 x64 not that it should make a difference.

I can load any dvb that does not have userforms. If I try to add a userform, the error comes up "Component not correctly registered".

I've tried to register FM20.dll and it succeeds, but doesn't resolve the issue.

This is limited to AutoCAD. Excel works without issue.
Any ideas?

Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

57gmc

  • Newt
  • Posts: 61
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2018, 04:47:27 PM »
Just a guess, since I don't have the same setup as you...
Could it be that acad 2007 is running vba 6 and xl is running vba 7?

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16623
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2018, 06:34:25 PM »
Maybe .. I am also using Office 2007 though.

This only started happening around Christmas so I think it has something to so with an update of some kind.

I remember several years ago that upgrading from IE6 to IE7 killed a whole bunch of Excel macros ... I tested it on a system and found that to be the case. I'm wondering what kind of update killed the forms in VBA 6

I have Visual Studio VB6 installed and it uses the VB6 libraries ... on a hunch I just fired it up and it will not load any of the projects.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

57gmc

  • Newt
  • Posts: 61
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2018, 01:01:20 PM »
I'm not sure what valid options you might have. Things that vb6 relies on are probably things related to XP. You might try compatibility mode for vs6 and reinstalling vb6 enabler for 2007 (if you can still get it).

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17113
  • brevity != aggression
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2018, 01:11:37 PM »
<thinking out loud>

If you have an older setup that will successfully load / run your old vb proggies you can export each form to a .frm file which is simple text.

You can then compare (e.g. ProgIDs) to forms exported by current VBA, abuse the originals to suit, then import into a new VBA project.

</thinking out loud>
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox | About

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16623
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2018, 01:24:31 PM »
VBA enabler for 2007 is no longer available. That being said, vba still works in 2007, just not forms.

I do have another machine that I can use to export the files, but the problem is deeper than that because I can't even create a new form.

Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17113
  • brevity != aggression
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2018, 01:42:46 PM »
...the problem is deeper than that ...

Indeed. I'm a digital pack rat but the oldest vba enabler I have is for 2011. Flowers sent.
\|// Set goal. Experiment tirelessly until
|oo| practice has become expertise.  Loop.
|- | LinkedIn | Dropbox | About

Dlanor

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 13
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2018, 05:09:51 PM »
:idea: My field laptop is running 2009 on Win 8.1. My forms are still working so i haven't suffered the same fate. If i can help let me know.
Dlanor

57gmc

  • Newt
  • Posts: 61
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2018, 05:12:20 PM »
I think that Win10 is the culprit.

Dlanor

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 13
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2018, 05:42:28 PM »
Is Microsoft Forms 2.0 still checked in the references using the Autocad VBAIDE?
Dlanor

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16623
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2018, 09:06:28 PM »
yes the reference is still checked and vb6 IS installed. It was working on Win10 until sometime in January.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16623
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2018, 12:36:27 AM »
Yeah, something has to have changed ... I can't plot to anything except a windows printer and I can't edit the plotter configuration files.

It may be time to wipe and re-install from scratch.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Dlanor

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 13
Re: Error: Component not correctly registered
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2018, 06:47:46 AM »
If it's working in Excel but not in AC2007 are the two references the same? Could you have two versions of the file in different locations?
Dlanor