Author Topic: variable blank,,!  (Read 6260 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
variable blank,,!
« on: May 17, 2005, 04:57:15 PM »
Sorry all...I have a blank....and can't find this variable..

I have a closed Polyline, but in each end....the polyline seem to close streaght...i mean without merging each other...

do i am clear !??...hmmm...i think i need to take some english course.

 :oops:
Keep smile...

whdjr

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2005, 05:00:35 PM »
Not reall clear!?!?!?

If you are trying to get the enpoints to match without joining the two lines, then just grip one and drag it towards the other one.  As you draw type in "end" and press "enter", then the line will snap to the endpoint when you pick on the second line.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
variable blank,,!
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2005, 04:11:25 AM »
I get the same problem, the only way I can find to get round this is to close the polyline as your drawing it, if you do it after you get a wee notch at the end.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15567
Re: variable blank,,!
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2005, 07:02:25 AM »
Quote from: Andrea
Sorry all...I have a blank....and can't find this variable..

I have a closed Polyline, but in each end....the polyline seem to close streaght...i mean without merging each other...

do i am clear !??...hmmm...i think i need to take some english course.

 :oops:


Can you post a picture of what you're trying to do...
A picture speaks a thousand words
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
variable blank,,!
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2005, 08:35:44 AM »
sure...but how to post a picture here ?? :shock:
Keep smile...

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
variable blank,,!
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2005, 09:41:16 AM »
Keep smile...

M-dub

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2005, 09:56:45 AM »
Does a REGEN do anything to change this?

The only way I can reproduce that is to draw 4 individual plines.  Are you certain that they're joined and closed?

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
variable blank,,!
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2005, 10:35:19 AM »
I'm going to guess the linetype is not continuous, but the ltscale is such that it appears continuous, except of course at vertices.
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

M-dub

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2005, 10:42:45 AM »
That makes sense too!  Good thought, MP

daron

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2005, 11:18:44 AM »
Don't forget here that for a few releases now, if you take a pline and snap the end to the beginning, it closes automatically. I don't believe this was the case with 2000, but I could be wrong. Are you trying to keep it open? That is what I understand from your post. And yes, you probably could benefit with some English courses. Do so and don't forget to speak English with English speaking people. It'll help you see where you struggle with it.

Russ

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2005, 11:24:22 AM »
If I understand the problem then by joining them should solve it.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
variable blank,,!
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2005, 03:34:38 PM »
oh...

thanks all.

But the Linetype is continuous, and the LTSCALE set to 1.
this is a CLOSED polyline created with the "PLINE" command and finished with "C" (Close).

Created from AutoCAD 2002, exported to 2004 2005 and also 2006..
but still the same thing.

Thanks to pushing me to lurn my English....I'll try to do better next time.
Keep smile...

whdjr

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2005, 04:04:32 PM »
Let me get this straight...you have a "closed" pline that does not meet at the ends?  Is that right?

Try this:

Explode the plines so they are all seperate lines then select them and look in properties to see how many you have.  If you more that the number of line segments you can see then you have duplicates and that is why your "closed" pline doesn't look closed.

Remedy:

Erase all the duplicates, fillet the lines together, and then use either pljoin or the pedit command to join these lines to make a closed pline.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
variable blank,,!
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2005, 04:04:09 AM »
The way to replicate the problem is as follows.

Draw a polyline that is 1mm wide, and has four equal sides 5mm long at right angles to each other, but don't close it.
Now if you use the pedit command to close the polyline the last corner doesn't close up.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

whdjr

  • Guest
variable blank,,!
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2005, 07:52:57 AM »
I have AutoCAD 2000 and when I did it like your instructions it closed completely on all 4 corners.