Author Topic: clash control in navis works  (Read 1502 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
clash control in navis works
« on: September 02, 2016, 07:55:04 AM »
Hello there,

for years now i  was used to import my dwg files into navisworks and run a bylayer clash control. that did allow me to detect clashes within pipe or duct systems themselves as well between them and others.as long as they were on different layers.

how can that be done in navisworks with an export out of revit? and how?

Thanks

Bernd
Bernd

rvhwlc

  • Newt
  • Posts: 172
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 01:53:58 PM »
use Search Filters with the correct criteria.. you can find tutorial online

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2016, 02:52:15 PM »
thanks for the hint, will try to do so!
Bernd

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2016, 03:18:00 PM »
We typically model using worksets for each trade/system such as HVAC, hydronic piping, plumbing, fire protection, lighting, power, special systems (such as low-voltage fire alarm), communications, security, foundations, framing, etc... and create clash tests based on those worksets.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2016, 03:22:15 PM »
Matt,

yes i have those as well, but i have a very complex lab exhaust air system with about 35 systems in it in the same vent workset and all the other dusts are also in the same workset. so duct 2 dust clashes would be undetected. so can i clash by system as well? i need to dig further into that.

And you export out revit straight into navisworks?
Bernd

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2016, 04:28:36 PM »
I always export to NWC format first then update in Navisworks.
You can toggle off the ignore ITEMS IN SAME FILE and you can then create a clash test of say HVAC vs HVAC and it will show you all of the hits.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

rvhwlc

  • Newt
  • Posts: 172
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2016, 04:29:01 PM »
Matt,

yes i have those as well, but i have a very complex lab exhaust air system with about 35 systems in it in the same vent workset and all the other dusts are also in the same workset. so duct 2 dust clashes would be undetected. so can i clash by system as well? i need to dig further into that.

And you export out revit straight into navisworks?
get and install revit navis works exporters. google them..

and yes you can use Search Sets to filter by system.. to create Search Sets you must use the Find tool in navis works first.

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: clash control in navis works
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2016, 04:32:36 PM »
I work in the cloud of my customer with revit 2016, but i only have navisworks 2012 here on my computer. so i can't export straight into navisworks. i will need to upgrade here first my navisworks manage.
right now i go via acad or 3ddwf

Bernd