Author Topic: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad  (Read 4212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Hello everybody!

My first post in this forum. After working in a 3d vertical environment for years,  get into my first Revit project.

The company i do this for is in Europe and they work with their own content (DIN), including t en elbows and all the good piping stuff.
I do my usual technical equipment rooms.

Projects are complex and move fast, so i made myself some software for my acad vertical to make shop drawings. And a anchor plan and rails and clamp drawings


No such thing in Revit i understood.

Or is there some app out there for splitting the model into shop drawings, aka making views automatically for some small part (max 20ft) of the piping?

Or i could export to acad and proceed there. But all i get is solids with some xdata. but is that of any use? Has somebody done that?
 
Thanks,

Bernd
Bernd

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2016, 08:45:18 AM »
You can and some people do create shops from Revit. The area you need to look into is called "Assemblies"; very useful. However, the process is still very "crude", you cannot create template schedules, for example, and there isn't any sort of auto-dimensioning. And you'll also need some "extra stuff" in your fitting families to get "standard dimensions". ...search youtube for "revit spool drawings" and I'm sure you'll find plenty of examples.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2016, 08:55:50 AM »
John,
thanks, i will.
The problem is that the company i will work for just moved away from a Revit Mep vertical to make their own content. so in revit their have their hand full tyo get me the basic needs for my work.

Installation on site starts in the end of the year....

SO manipulating in cad would have preference
Do you have any experience with the other route, export to acad (i know; acad, a big nono for revit gurus) with some useful information attached, if somebody may wrote something in dynamo to export systems with some xdata attachments.

Thanks Bernd
Bernd

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2016, 09:08:57 AM »
The AuotCAD solids you get from Revit will be limited--in that, they will be solid meshes and generic 3d solids so, that will be up to you if you can deal with that content type. The exported pipe/duct from Revit will not be parametric MEP content at all. ...You could use Revit fabrication content and get some fabrication content in CADmep but that will require you to draw in Fab, not native Revit content like you may be already.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2016, 09:40:55 AM »
John,
true, they will not be parametric.if i would have a way to give them some xdata on their way at export i would see a better chance to deal with it. because our IM manager is a "single source" fanatic, he will not let me get in some strange apps.
Bernd

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2016, 09:56:12 AM »
Ok, but what kind of data are you looking to give the items (IFC has a lot of data you can use and it works out of the box)?

Attached is a pipe elbow drawn in Revit, Exported to IFC and imported into AutoCAD.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2016, 01:09:13 PM »
There are really only two applications for doing shop-like drawings in Revit: Sysque and Fabrication Parts for Revit (first released with 2016).
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2016, 05:32:37 AM »
John,
i tried your dwg, it was a a box. i looked up ifc 2 acad and there seems to be no way, only acad mep. do you have acad mep? If so would you p lease mail me a screen shot how it looks in that application, is there xdata info like diameter and system (if not retractable out layer)?
Thanks Bernd
Bernd

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2016, 05:33:49 AM »
Mayhem,

our company doesn't do the duct work, but the pipework. so i would need shop drawings in that field.
Thanks Bernd
Bernd

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2016, 07:04:37 AM »
John,
i tried your dwg, it was a a box. i looked up ifc 2 acad and there seems to be no way, only acad mep. do you have acad mep? If so would you p lease mail me a screen shot how it looks in that application, is there xdata info like diameter and system (if not retractable out layer)?
Thanks Bernd

Sorry, yes, you will need AutoCAD MEP. I will attach a screen shot to this thread first thing the morning (when I get to work).
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2016, 08:05:56 AM »
Amsterdammed, I tried to show as much of the properties as I could.

What I did:
In Revit: I added a pipe elbow and then exported the project to an IFC file.
In AutoCAD MEP: Typed IFCIMPORT ...
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2016, 08:17:39 AM »
John,
Ok, so you have acad MEP, and it seems that all properties are there.

i am not familiar with acad mep, i know those are objects like those out of CADUCT, you need an enabler to see them in plain acad. could you please do me a favor and check the xdata on that animal?

I guess i will have to download a trial version of ACAD mep to see if i can let my shop drawing lisps work in that environment. that would be almost to good to be true!

Thanks so far,

Bernd
Bernd

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2016, 08:19:24 AM »
I just saw on that tab, it is the exdented data, so i should be good!
Bernd

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2016, 08:32:56 AM »
Good luck. Report back on your progress!
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2016, 08:40:41 AM »
Thanks.

I sure will! i was a very happy customer here at the swamp for my (lacking) lisp knowledge, this place helped me a lot.
I sure will report, hopefully a good working solution until revit has this part of the job covered,too.
Bernd
Bernd

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2016, 09:20:52 AM »
I'm sure I speak for everyone when I say that's a very nice compliment and thank you for saying so.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2016, 09:28:59 AM »
{GROUP HUG!!}  :smitten:
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2016, 09:31:34 AM »
You just want an opportunity to see my butt, M@yhem.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2016, 02:45:04 PM »
You just want an opportunity to see my butt, M@yhem.
WHOA! That escalated quickly. Keep your clothes on, dude!!
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9493
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2016, 04:15:38 PM »
lmao
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Amsterdammed

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 507
  • Revit MEP 2016 Acad2013, OPEN DCL
Re: prefabrication (shop drawings) in Revit MEP or Export to Acad
« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2016, 06:21:19 AM »
i just came along Fabrication CADmep.

http://www.autodesk.com/products/fabrication-products/features/fabrication-cadmep/all/gallery-view


that seems to be exactly the idea i try to follow, export to cad as good as possible and spool over there.

looks like that is adesk' s own idea to enhance ifc? or do i see that wrong? Has anybody experience with Fabrication CADmep?

Bernd
Bernd