Author Topic: Difference Between PRINT, PRINC & PRIN1  (Read 2896 times)

mailmaverick

• Bull Frog
Difference Between PRINT, PRINC & PRIN1
« on: December 06, 2015, 07:50:14 AM »
Hi All,

This post is for information rather than a query. I had been using Autolisp since two years now but was always confused between PRINT, PRINC & PRIN1. Today I Googled it and found following explanation from IRNEB at following link :

http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?111705-Difference-Between-PRINT-PRINC-amp-PRIN1

It says :

They all 3 send a string to either the command line area (note it doesn't send a command, just a message). Or (if specified) to a file.
The princ function sends a string after formatting any contol characters. E.g. (princ "\"this is quoted\"") will show as "this is quoted" on the command line.
The prin1 function does the same without formatting. E.g. (prin1 "\"this is quoted\"") will show as "\"this is quoted\"". This is usually used when sending to a file so you can later use the read function to get the same value. Also say you have a list of strings, it'll send the text to the file so a later read would produce the same list of strings - princ will ommit the quotes and the read would fail.
The print function does the same as the prin1, but prefixes the string with a newline "\n" (which is formatted). This so that you can send a control code string to a new line in a file in one instruction, otherwise you'd have to do a princ for the new line, then a prin1 for the data.
There's also the prompt function which does exactly the same as princ with 2 caveats:
It can't send to a file (only the command line)
It has to have some text to send to the command line. The princ can be used without any string - this is usually wanted when you end a defun with (princ) so nothing is displayed on the command line. Otherwise the last line of the defun will basically issue a prin1 with its value.