Author Topic: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX  (Read 20751 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« on: September 15, 2015, 10:42:26 AM »
I don't know how long this has been a problem, but my linetypes that use LTYPESHP.SHX don't seem to find this file or the linetypes themselves have a problem.
I get a "Bad definition of FENCELINE1 at line 119 of the..." and so on all of those.


Anyone know what could be wrong?
Can anyone tell me where the LTYPESHP.SHX file is supposed to be?


I have the LTYPESHP.SHX in the support folder (and for giggles I put it in the fonts folder, but I don't think it should be there)
C:\Users\<me>\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\R19.1\enu\support
and
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\Fonts


Thoughts?


Thanks
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2015, 11:03:58 AM »
C:\Users\mfarrell\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\R19.1\enu\Support

check support path(s) in OPTIONS
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2015, 11:22:43 AM »
If this finds the ltypeshp.shx .. then it's probably something else throwing the error.
Code - Auto/Visual Lisp: [Select]
  1. (if (findfile "LTYPESHP.SHX")
  2.   (alert (findfile "LTYPESHP.SHX"))
  3.   (alert "Oh noes!!")
  4. )

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2015, 11:27:03 AM »
Thanks guys, yes, I do have that path (second in line) in my support paths, and ronjonp's code kicked back that very path.
So now what?


I don't believe I changed anything with those linetypes, I have an OOTB copy too that gives me the same error messages.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2015, 11:49:24 AM »
Maybe post a sample drawing?

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2015, 12:04:42 PM »
Maybe post a sample drawing?
I had a coworker send me his acad.lin and ltypeshp.shx files and I placed them in the support folder and am getting the same issue.


Attached is a drawing and some screen shots. you'll see the fenceline1 is a dashed line without the circles for me anyway.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2015, 12:17:10 PM »
PROBLEM IS....

LTYPESHP.shx is a shape file, not a text font file.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2015, 12:29:23 PM »
That file works fine for me...

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2015, 12:32:34 PM »
That file works fine for me...
Ok thanks.
I tried the same files and paths that others use without an issue for them...
I made sure the support path is there,


What else in an Acad set up be causing this?


I also made sure there were no "copies" of these files anywhere else in my support paths
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1152
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2015, 02:02:37 PM »
Just for grins, can you load and use the SHAPEs via the  LOAD command for the shx, and the SHAPE command to place a named shape from it?
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

huiz

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 917
  • Certified Prof C3D
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2015, 02:42:34 AM »
Probably the shape CIRC1 does not exist.

If someone has changed the linetype in the LIN file and added a new shape to the SHX File, both files has to be distributed. Linetypes get saved inside the drawing once they are loaded, but shapes are not.
It is better to not add shapes to a default AutoCAD SHX file, instead create a new SHX file. If you miss that file, you only get the message that the SHX could not be found, but no linetype errors.
The conclusion is justified that the initialization of the development of critical subsystem optimizes the probability of success to the development of the technical behavior over a given period.

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2015, 08:42:14 AM »
Just for grins, can you load and use the SHAPEs via the  LOAD command for the shx, and the SHAPE command to place a named shape from it?
Thanks cadtag.

Interesting...
It will allow me to load ltypeshp.shx, but any shape I try to place, it says "not found".
HOWEVER... if I rename that same file and load it, it WILL allow me to place a shape??


WTF?


Code: [Select]

Command: LOAD <ltypeshp.shx>
Command: SHAPE Enter shape name or [?]: circ1
Shape CIRC1 not found.


Command: LOAD <ltypeshp1.shx>
Command: SHAPE Enter shape name or [?]: circ1
Specify insertion point:
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2015, 08:54:27 AM »
Shameless plug but you could just make a waaayyy cooler linetype that does not rely on shapes :)


Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2015, 09:04:22 AM »
Shameless plug but you could just make a waaayyy cooler linetype that does not rely on shapes :)
Cool man.
I agree, I tend to use line types with standard text styles/fonts, but this is someone else's drawing, probably why I didn't have an issue until now.


An UPDATE on my last post, to hopefully help troubleshoot the actual problem..


If I keep the renamed "ltypeshp1.shx" in my support folder and change the name of that file in the Acad.lin file for the (5) line types using that file, it works!


In other words, My AutoCAD has an issue with the file name "ltypeshp.shx" not the file
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2015, 09:11:39 AM »

In other words, My AutoCAD has an issue with the file name "ltypeshp.shx" not the file

I know how it feels.  I have a issue with you calling yourself a Ted.    :-P :whistling: :-D
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans

cadtag

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1152
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2015, 09:21:43 AM »
In other words, My AutoCAD has an issue with the file name "ltypeshp.shx" not the file

See, obviously you're just not drinking enough.  Or I'm not.  Damn I hope that kumquat tequila is ready soon....
The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government is big business

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2015, 09:28:24 AM »

In other words, My AutoCAD has an issue with the file name "ltypeshp.shx" not the file

I know how it feels.  I have a issue with you calling yourself a Ted.    :P :whistling: ;D
Well at least I don't obscure the truth with an ambiguous username  :P
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2015, 09:37:01 AM »
Shameless plug but you could just make a waaayyy cooler linetype that does not rely on shapes :)
Cool man.
I agree, I tend to use line types with standard text styles/fonts, but this is someone else's drawing, probably why I didn't have an issue until now.


An UPDATE on my last post, to hopefully help troubleshoot the actual problem..


If I keep the renamed "ltypeshp1.shx" in my support folder and change the name of that file in the Acad.lin file for the (5) line types using that file, it works!


In other words, My AutoCAD has an issue with the file name "ltypeshp.shx" not the file
That is strange that renaming the the file fixes the problem. It sounds to me like you have a messed up file somewhere.Have you tried putting "C:\\Users\\<Username>\\appdata\\roaming\\autodesk\\autocad 20XX\\rXX.X\\enu\\support\\ltypeshp.shx" at the top of your support paths ?

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

tedg

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 811
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2015, 11:26:06 AM »
Thanks ronjonp, I tried changing/repathing that, didn't help or change.


I did however, find this thread which I believe solved my problem.


For some reason, I had a handful of text styles loaded in my default template (that I don't know where they came from), one of which was looking for "ltypeshp.shx". And so that seemed to be tripping up any other drawing I worked on


Once I deleted that from my drawing (and template), restarted AutoCAD, everything works as it should with the line types and shape files.


Hope this helps someone, more to follow I assume.
Windows 10 Pro 64bit, AutoCAD 2023, REVIT 2023

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7527
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2015, 11:32:59 AM »
Glad you got it sorted :)

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

wkiernan

  • Guest
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2017, 09:02:26 AM »
The LTYPESHP.SHX that comes with AutoCAD is a shape file, not a text font file.  If you load a drawing where a text style incorrectly uses LTYPESHP.SHX, then from that point on until you exit out and restart AutoCAD, in every drawing you open, AutoCAD will not read LTYPESHP.SHX correctly.  For example, I open this drawing called WKS_COPY.DWG and as it loads I get an error message reading

ltypeshp.shx is a shape file, not a text font file.

Now I open a second drawing called BR.DWG, where there are complex linetypes that use the shapes defined in LTYPESHP.SHX.  One of them is a linetype for a fence line that ordinarily shows a line with little circles in it, like this: ----O-----O-----O----  where the little circles are shapes. But since I had opened that other drawing first which incorrectly tried to use LTYPESHP.SHX as a text font, in the second drawing BR.DWG, those linetypes are displayed without the circles: -----  ------  ------  ---- .  The only way I have figured out to make those linetypes display properly in BR.DWG is to exit out and restart AutoCAD, and open BR.DWG first before I open WKS_COPY.DWG. I see this behavior in AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD 2016.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2017, 08:45:09 AM »
The LTYPESHP.SHX that comes with AutoCAD is a shape file, not a text font file.  If you load a drawing where a text style incorrectly uses LTYPESHP.SHX, then from that point on until you exit out and restart AutoCAD, in every drawing you open, AutoCAD will not read LTYPESHP.SHX correctly.  For example, I open this drawing called WKS_COPY.DWG and as it loads I get an error message reading

ltypeshp.shx is a shape file, not a text font file.

Now I open a second drawing called BR.DWG, where there are complex linetypes that use the shapes defined in LTYPESHP.SHX.  One of them is a linetype for a fence line that ordinarily shows a line with little circles in it, like this: ----O-----O-----O----  where the little circles are shapes. But since I had opened that other drawing first which incorrectly tried to use LTYPESHP.SHX as a text font, in the second drawing BR.DWG, those linetypes are displayed without the circles: -----  ------  ------  ---- .  The only way I have figured out to make those linetypes display properly in BR.DWG is to exit out and restart AutoCAD, and open BR.DWG first before I open WKS_COPY.DWG. I see this behavior in AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD 2016.

check your fontalt setting
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

rkmcswain

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 978
Re: Acad 2014 doesn't find LTYPESHP.SHX
« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2017, 11:39:05 AM »
The LTYPESHP.SHX that comes with AutoCAD is a shape file, not a text font file.  If you load a drawing where a text style incorrectly uses LTYPESHP.SHX, then from that point on until you exit out and restart AutoCAD, in every drawing you open, AutoCAD will not read LTYPESHP.SHX correctly.  For example, I open this drawing called WKS_COPY.DWG and as it loads I get an error message reading

ltypeshp.shx is a shape file, not a text font file.

Now I open a second drawing called BR.DWG, where there are complex linetypes that use the shapes defined in LTYPESHP.SHX.  One of them is a linetype for a fence line that ordinarily shows a line with little circles in it, like this: ----O-----O-----O----  where the little circles are shapes. But since I had opened that other drawing first which incorrectly tried to use LTYPESHP.SHX as a text font, in the second drawing BR.DWG, those linetypes are displayed without the circles: -----  ------  ------  ---- .  The only way I have figured out to make those linetypes display properly in BR.DWG is to exit out and restart AutoCAD, and open BR.DWG first before I open WKS_COPY.DWG. I see this behavior in AutoCAD 2007 and AutoCAD 2016.


Boom ---> This right here ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Is what I came to say (red bold is mine)