Author Topic: Freeze Object(s)  (Read 10583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Birdy

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« on: May 03, 2005, 08:34:13 AM »
Here's a routine I found on the augi site that I can use.
It takes a selection set and puts them on new layers "*-FREEZE"
which are frozen.  Nice, but I'd like to add a fuction to THAW them back to their original state (ie, put 'em back on their original layer), and delete the *-FREEZE layer if nothing is on 'em.
Any takers?  (credit to the swamp will go back to the author)
Code: [Select]
;;; Created by Karl Browning
;;; kbrowning@chasebrass.com
;;; 16 May 2003
;;;
;;; This function is used to select an object(s), figure out what layer it is on,
;;; make a new layer based on the old one with "-Freeze" appended, change the object
;;; to the new layer, then freeze layers *-Freeze. I made this to clean up some vendor
;;; prints without losing the data.
;;;
;;; Feel free to modify the lisp, just send me a copy of it when you are done. ;)

(defun c:FRZOBJ (/ sset counter item LayerName NewLayerName)
  (vl-load-com)
  (initerr) ;Load error trapping
  (setvar "cmdecho" 0)
  (command "undo" "m")
  (setq sset (ssget)) ;get selection set
  (setq counter 0) ;set the counter
  (repeat (sslength sset) ;count number of entities and loop
    (setq item    (ssname sset counter) ;extract the entity name
 item    (vlax-ename->vla-object item)
;convert to a vl object
 LayerName (vla-get-layer item) ;get the object's layer
    ) ;_ end of setq
    (if (= (TBLSEARCH "Layer" (strcat LayerName "-Freeze")) nil)
;check for "layer"-Freeze
      (progn
(setq NewLayerName (strcat LayerName "-Freeze"))
;if not there, create it
(command ".layer" "new" NewLayerName "")
      ) ;_ end of progn
      (setq NewLayerName (strcat LayerName "-Freeze"))
    ) ;_ end of if
    (vla-put-layer item NewLayerName)
    (setq counter (1+ counter))
  ) ;_ end of repeat
  (princ)
  (command ".layer" "freeze" "*-Freeze" "")
  (setq sset nil)
  (reset)
  (princ)
) ;_ end of defun


(defun error ()
  (prompt "\nGlobal Error Trap Loaded")
  (princ)
  )

;;;*=================================================================================

(defun initerr ()
  (setq oldlayer (getvar "clayer")
oldsnap (getvar "osmode")
oldpick (getvar "pickbox")
temperr *error*
*error* trap)
  (princ)
  )

;;;*=================================================================================

(defun trap (errmsg)
  (command nil nil nil)
  (if (not (member errmsg '("console break" "Function Cancelled"))
  )
    (princ (strcat "\nError: " errmsg))
    )
  (command "undo" "b")
  (setvar "clayer" oldlayer)
  (setvar "menuecho" 0)
  (setvar "highlight" 1)
  (setvar "osmode" oldsnap)
  (setvar "pickbox" oldpick)
  (princ "\nError Resetting Environment ")
  (terpri)
  (setq *error* temperr)
  (princ)
  )

;;;*=================================================================================

(defun reset ()
  (setq *error* temperr)
  (setvar "clayer" oldlayer)
  (setvar "menuecho" 0)
  (setvar "highlight" 1)
  (setvar "osmode" oldsnap)
  (setvar "pickbox" oldpick)
  (princ)
  )

;;;*=================================================================================

(princ)

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2005, 08:43:14 AM »
I'd like to help, yet ...

Wouldn't it be more polite to pose this question to the AUGI folk?

If some swamp dude coded up a utility I think it would be more polite if one wanted added functionality to pose the question here, rather than go to AUGI and say "I found this utility at the swamp, can anyone here fix it up?". So to be fair to AUGI I think this should be treated the same way.

Not trying to be confrontational, but not having the benefit of my first coffee yet, this is how this looks to me ... am I wrong?

shrug.mpg
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Birdy

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2005, 08:48:21 AM »
No, not at all wrong.
In fact you're quite right! My apologies.
<OnlyHavingBenefitOfHalfCupSoFar>

Going over there now...

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2005, 08:50:12 AM »
Sorry, didn't mean to chase you way but it does seem the right thing to do.

(Hope birdy comes back).
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

M-dub

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2005, 08:51:00 AM »
Quote from: MP
(Hope birdy comes back).


Leave him a trail of bread crumbs! :)

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2005, 08:51:38 AM »
I think Karl Browning should have first right of refusal.
Then come one come all.  :)
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. ()
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2005, 08:53:18 AM »
Birdy,

I can't help you modify the posted routine (I don't have that much time  :D )
But I can offer an alternative.

I found this little baby somewhere.

Found to be a paid app (Sorry for that)

I believe this is kind of what you want it doesn't however create a new layer.
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2005, 08:53:36 AM »
Ding ding ding. I wished Alan posted that before me; that's a better way to say it.
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Birdy

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2005, 08:59:35 AM »
You guys are UNBELIEVABLE!
5 additional replies in the time it took me to log back on to the augi site!
Hip, Hip, yada, yada!

Thanks. I'll continue <------ ereht revo
and give your's a shot Tim.
Donuts all 'round.

daron

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2005, 09:48:43 AM »
I'm curious as to how you received that code, Tim. Here's why
Code: [Select]
program created by:
;;; contract cadd
;;; frank zander

That seems to imply he was paid to write it. I could very well be wrong though. Would you care to calm my issues with that code?

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2005, 10:41:44 AM »
If i am not mistaken (and I could be but I'll look into it more) It was posted on the Autodesk Newsgroups by Contract CADD Group.  Not sure but I'll look closer.

I'll Be right back.
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

hendie

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2005, 10:42:00 AM »
Daron, I think you may be right. I seem to remember the program being offered for $9.99 or something

TimSpangler

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2010
  • CAD Naked!!
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2005, 11:04:54 AM »
Ok I am back.  I couldn't run across the post on the Adesk NG but when I went to the contract cadd site I found that you are correct. It sells for $9.95.  I'll post an alternative.
ACA 2015 - Windows 7 Pro
All Comments and Content by TimSpangler, Copyright 2016

Birdy

  • Guest
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2005, 11:07:22 AM »
I talked to Frank.
They have a "tutorial" on their site that does this via VBA. There is a link to download the code, no strings attached.  Elsewhere on their site, they have a link to purchase the code ($9.95).
No mention of the beta lisp version, but in his words:
"...If your using this program and it is saving you time...  
Buy it.  Sounds like the ethical thing to do...."
to which I wholeheartedly agree.
So, if it'll save us time, we will buy it.
If it doesn't save us time, we'll delete it.

On another note, posted <------ ereht revo,
1hr 40min ago, no replies.  :(

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Freeze Object(s)
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2005, 11:09:48 AM »
Honestly, it's a joke if that code sells for any amount of money, it is not professionally written and it's a technique has been used by many of us for *years*.

/rant
Engineering Technologist CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.com http://cadanalyst.slack.com http://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst