Author Topic: Revit API {Addin or Macro Suggestions}  (Read 2121 times)

Jeff H

• Needs a day job
Revit API {Addin or Macro Suggestions}
« on: July 18, 2015, 03:26:53 PM »
Where I live Revit was starting to gain traction but it was right when the housing market crashed crippling the economy and it quickly fizzled.
I do not how it came back so quick(and wish it go the f**k back away) but we went from 1 revit job in 4 years to +40% of upcoming jobs are Revit.

So I guess I am going to start learning the Revit API, mainly to see if it make dealing with it easier.
I have some knowledge of Revit but lack the years of experience using it to know what aspects to automate would be most valuable.

So I thought you guys with more experience would suggest better ideas. I have started adding some tools and anything you can do in API can be done in the UI. So if I build something that is just as easy to do with UI it provides no value.

So Any suggestions for something you like created or automated?

The next two posts are the first two things I built and please let me know what I can add or change if it helps.

Attached at end of message is the addin which are the files that need to be copied to paths below for 2014 and 2015.
  • %appdata%\Autodesk\Revit\Addins\2014
  • %appdata%\Autodesk\Revit\Addins\2015
You can copy the paths above and paste them in top bar of windows explorer and press enter and will expand %appdata% to local user appdata path.

Jeff H

• Needs a day job
Re: Revit API {Addin or Macro Suggestions}
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2015, 03:27:10 PM »

The first thing I built was to help inspect elements and see how they are built.
I like these types of tools because you will see that 2 objects that you thought were completely different are actually composed of some of the same objects and to help see why objects act the way they do.

Since revit is sh**ty and it will be looking at sh*t  I called it  PooperSnooper
  • PooperSnooper - inspecting elements in host model