Author Topic: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)  (Read 12598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lamarn

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 630
Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« on: May 20, 2015, 02:44:47 PM »
Dear Revit expert users,

I am truggling and waisting time to get DWG output the same as PDF.
Our principals demand ifc, and both pdf and dwg as delivarables.
Both looking at the dwg files, they are many times far equal to pdf plot files.
tried working with the .pcp files Revit exports but that does not help very much.

Any tips or tricks? i appreciate it..

Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2015, 02:47:49 PM »
Whaaaa??!?

DWG and PDF are two COMPLETELY different file types. I don't understand what they want (and it sounds like they're not sure either). Do they want the DWG to look like a PDF when it's opened in AutoCAD? I mean, because you can create a PDF of the DWG and have it look however you want using a CTB file.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2015, 03:01:24 PM »
or set up a page setup with DISPLAY PLOT STYLE turned on....then the drawing will come closer to looking just like the PDF
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9521
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2015, 03:56:17 PM »
I like the idea.

.pcp files are nice in theory but if I remember right the line weights in the pcp file are below what most plotters can handle (the lineweights from AutoCAD and Revit aren't really interchangable--I did try to work out a matrix at one time but I don't have that anymore) so I always relied on the line weights in the layers and the layers themselves. I also set up my export layers from revit so they fit to my standards.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2015, 07:28:35 AM »
I'm with M@yhem, I don't understand the question but here's my take.

We set our AutoCAD and Revit lineweights to match so that a project printed from Revit looks almost exactly the same as it would from AutoCAD. We then made an export set-up that maps everything to our AutoCAD standard layers and colors. A .dwg exported from Revit can be plotted with our standard .ctb with similar results.
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2015, 07:36:31 AM »
We set our AutoCAD and Revit lineweights to match so that a project printed from Revit looks almost exactly the same as it would from AutoCAD.
Ditto

We then made an export set-up that maps everything to our AutoCAD standard layers and colors. A .dwg exported from Revit can be plotted with our standard .ctb with similar results.
I decided to skip this in our office. If we're exporting from Revit to DWG it's not for our use. It's because we're giving the plan(s) to a CM or sub typically and they've historically used our DWGs as a starting point to create their coordinated models using QuickPen or CAD Duct/Pipe, etc...
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2015, 07:43:50 AM »
I decided to skip this in our office. If we're exporting from Revit to DWG it's not for our use. It's because we're giving the plan(s) to a CM or sub typically and they've historically used our DWGs as a starting point to create their coordinated models using QuickPen or CAD Duct/Pipe, etc...

We had a need for it internally. During the transition from AutoCAD, not all teams or even trades within a team were able to do a project completely in Revit. Exporting backgrounds and/or trade work for XREFs was sometimes needed. That need has pretty much disappeared, but we can still do it if necessary.
CAD Tech

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9521
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2015, 07:50:26 AM »
IMO the question has to do with records. The bosses want a way to keep old files/jobs and PDFs aren't up to the job (with DWG at least "Jimmy" has something to draw on or with).

Now you guys have me second guessing myself; how did you make the lieweights the same in AutoCAD and Revit? My Revit lineweights are a fraction of the lineweights in my CTB file.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2015, 08:17:13 AM »
...

CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2015, 08:21:18 AM »
What Rob posted...^^^

I simply plotted out a few trade drawings from AutoCAD and a few from Revit and tweaked the corresponding line weights accordingly.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9521
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2015, 08:31:19 AM »
*facepalm* You realize I would be kicking your chair right 'bout now if we were in the same office don't you?

I did the math on my Revit linewights way back in '07 (or something--at another company) once but the prints from Revit never looked the exact same. Are you guys just comparing on a print (trial and error)?
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Donate to TheSwamp.org

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2015, 08:38:36 AM »
Math? We don't need no stinking math and why would you kick my chair when I'm showing you something?

CAD Tech

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2015, 08:49:27 AM »
^^^   :whistling:   ^^^
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

lamarn

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 630
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2015, 08:55:55 AM »
Yes M@yhem
I would love revit to export DWG (..all exports as a matter of fact..) as 'What you see is what you get',
just lik a PDF file. I find it amusing that that idea is strange .. :)
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2015, 09:01:11 AM »
So, the display settings that make the .dwg look like the PDF is in the Page Set-Up settings in AutoCAD, but, and that's a big but, the export settings need to be set-up properly in Revit.

What part are you having trouble with?
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2015, 09:38:47 AM »
So, the display settings that make the .dwg look like the PDF is in the Page Set-Up settings in AutoCAD, but, and that's a big but, the export settings need to be set-up properly in Revit.

What part are you having trouble with?
Even still, if you don't include the PCP file it's all for naught since that's ultimately what controls the final output of the DWG.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13616
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2015, 09:40:20 AM »
An interesting group of discussions ... Yes I like.  That I do.
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2015, 10:00:28 AM »
Even still, if you don't include the PCP file it's all for naught since that's ultimately what controls the final output of the DWG.

Doesn't having a Page Set-Up and .ctb preclude the need for the .pcp?
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2015, 10:17:07 AM »
I don't believe you can pre-set a page setup when exporting from Revit, can you? Besides, a page setup controls settings for printing, which includes the PCP. It all comes back to having the correct PCP for printing from AutoCAD.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2015, 10:20:29 AM »
I don't think you can get all the way there directly from Revit. One would have to do a bit of set-up after exporting.
CAD Tech

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2015, 10:44:15 AM »
Even still, if you don't include the PCP file it's all for naught since that's ultimately what controls the final output of the DWG.

Doesn't having a Page Set-Up and .ctb preclude the need for the .pcp?
the ctb can start from the pcp file
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13616
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2015, 11:01:36 AM »
Would you have to use each PCP that is generated for each exported sheet? 

Me know nothing about PCPs
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #22 on: May 21, 2015, 11:09:41 AM »
Would you have to use each PCP that is generated for each exported sheet?

Most likely.
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2015, 11:11:29 AM »
Would you have to use each PCP that is generated for each exported sheet?

Most likely.
Each PCP file will contain the same settings based on your DWG Export settings in Revit. So you could create a new CTB based on any one of the PCP files created during an export.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2015, 11:30:19 AM »
Each PCP file will contain the same settings based on your DWG Export settings in Revit. So you could create a new CTB based on any one of the PCP files created during an export.

Isn't it possible that the settings could be different depending on the view.
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2015, 11:39:41 AM »
Each PCP file will contain the same settings based on your DWG Export settings in Revit. So you could create a new CTB based on any one of the PCP files created during an export.

Isn't it possible that the settings could be different depending on the view.
A cable tray in one view will export to the same layer as a cable tray in another view. The settings don't care. Unless you specify some sort of modifier, but again, that modifier will apply to all cable trays regardless of where they are.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2015, 11:45:24 AM »
What if an override of any sort was done to that cable tray for some views?

I haven't tested it, but I always thought that there had to be a reason for multiple .pcps.
CAD Tech

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6083
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #27 on: May 21, 2015, 11:50:06 AM »
Revit is finally catching on in this area but we have done a handful of jobs where Arch was using Revit and we used AutoCAD. I did not work on them but every single one of those jobs I got tired of people bitching and had Arch send Revit model for every update and exported files to use instead of them sending what they were sending.


lamarn

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 630
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #28 on: May 21, 2015, 11:56:52 AM »
I have tried it Using the pcp file. Great to see some discussion about the subject I will 📮 the test files and outcome later on..
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6083
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2015, 12:06:11 PM »
Are exporting revit model or have access to it?
You can select all set to print bylayer, then set lineweights on layer and use ctb that all colors print by object lineweight.

I always set linewieght on layer so it would work with acad.ctb which has never really been helpful or needed but it will work.


Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #30 on: May 21, 2015, 12:07:24 PM »
had Arch send Revit model for every update and exported files to use instead of them sending what they were sending.

Same here. How could you expect the arch to know what settings to use? Plus, they ALWAYS did not send something we needed. RCPs were often left out of the sets of .dwgs that we would get.
CAD Tech

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6083
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #31 on: May 21, 2015, 01:16:01 PM »
had Arch send Revit model for every update and exported files to use instead of them sending what they were sending.

Same here. How could you expect the arch to know what settings to use? Plus, they ALWAYS did not send something we needed. RCPs were often left out of the sets of .dwgs that we would get.
If I'm in contact with the person handling it I try to give them description of what we find important, and value most.
If a Arch is sending to different disciplines and only feedback is I need model that "looks good" what can you expect.

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #32 on: May 21, 2015, 01:22:48 PM »
If I'm in contact with the person handling it I try to give them description of what we find important, and value most.
If a Arch is sending to different disciplines and only feedback is I need model that "looks good" what can you expect.

I haven't had the luxury of working with architects that were that savvy. Plus, it was a lot easier for me to export to exactly what I wanted than it was to do the back and forth in order to receive everything I needed in a format that didn't require a lot of work on my part.
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #33 on: May 21, 2015, 02:33:50 PM »
If I'm in contact with the person handling it I try to give them description of what we find important, and value most.
If a Arch is sending to different disciplines and only feedback is I need model that "looks good" what can you expect.

I haven't had the luxury of working with architects that were that savvy. Plus, it was a lot easier for me to export to exactly what I wanted than it was to do the back and forth in order to receive everything I needed in a format that didn't require a lot of work on my part.
Or just simply send the arckee-tect a blank file with your DWG export settings already defined and have them transfer those settings into their project. This will allow them to export a DWG to your layers.

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2015/ENU/Revit-Customize/files/GUID-2A49FE80-1B07-4C95-A0FE-42CE2001F3C2-htm.html
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #34 on: May 21, 2015, 02:44:51 PM »
Or just simply send the arckee-tect a blank file with your DWG export settings

That still leaves open the possibility of them not sending everything. Frankly, even if they were able to give me everything the way I wanted it, I would still ask for the Revit file.

It's pretty much a non-issue now as we have advanced enough that I haven't had to jump through those hoops in a long time. I'm hoping to do P&IDs in Revit for the first time for a few projects that I am setting up. I'm hoping to not have any AutoCAD links in them.
CAD Tech

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #35 on: May 21, 2015, 02:49:28 PM »
I'm hoping to do P&IDs in Revit for the first time for a few projects that I am setting up.
Using detail lines?
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #36 on: May 21, 2015, 02:52:03 PM »
Using detail lines?

Yes, sir. I've already started Revitizing our symbol library.
CAD Tech

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6083
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #37 on: May 21, 2015, 02:59:56 PM »
Can you pull information out of model for details or other drawings?

Can a one-line point to the name of a panel in the model, or they starting to bury the info inside the objects that meant to display them.

I thought it was supposed to be a database or data that you could display however you wanted.

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #38 on: May 21, 2015, 03:06:01 PM »
My plan at this point is to do the one-lines in Revit like we would in AutoCAD. Making them smart is a ways off at this point.
CAD Tech

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6083
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #39 on: May 21, 2015, 03:25:02 PM »
My plan at this point is to do the one-lines in Revit like we would in AutoCAD. Making them smart is a ways off at this point.
But I'm pretty much dumb all the time and why it would be betterer if it were smarterer

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #40 on: May 21, 2015, 03:48:28 PM »
My plan at this point is to do the one-lines in Revit like we would in AutoCAD. Making them smart is a ways off at this point.
But I'm pretty much dumb all the time and why it would be betterer if it were smarterer
Okay Krush.   :roll:
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

lamarn

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 630
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #41 on: May 21, 2015, 03:59:34 PM »
Here i have a sample of a Revit-drawing as direct pdf and as DWG export
Apart from not correctly exported to coordinates (our clients demand the DWG drawings in coordinats)..
i cannot get it to work to get the conversion wright 'wysiwys' speaking.
We, like many, use the dutch national Revit (DRS) standard.
Again, tips & trciks for correct DWG output are welcome.

Thanks anyway..
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #42 on: May 21, 2015, 04:07:26 PM »
Okay, so what PCP / CTB file did you use to create the PDF after it was exported to DWG? Did you convert the PCP file that was automatically generated when the DWG was exported from Revit or did you use some other CTB file?
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

lamarn

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 630
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #43 on: May 21, 2015, 04:19:32 PM »
I use the pcp file provided by Revit. In Autocad create new ctb..  select pcp etc..
I think the idea should be that Revit would give the right settings to plot the DWG good. As Revit and Autocad are both Autodesk software.
Autocad a liitle more 2D.. Revit a little more 3D?

(edit : i think the problem is Revit is really giving away or saving any plot settings..maybe next release..?)



 
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #44 on: May 21, 2015, 04:34:01 PM »
I think the idea should be that Revit would give the right settings to plot the DWG good. As Revit and Autocad are both Autodesk software.
But your settings/preferences for ducts and pipes may be different from my settings/preferences for ducts and pipes. You need to specify, yourself, the output for the DWG (layers, colors, linetypes, etc...)
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3822
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #45 on: May 21, 2015, 04:41:39 PM »
(I'm sorry, but I'm having trouble understanding some of your English.)

It looks like you are using different settings for PDF from Revit than you are for exporting. I'm going to have to explore this a bit more and will let you know my findings after I get a chance to find them.
CAD Tech

lamarn

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 630
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #46 on: May 22, 2015, 02:14:59 AM »
No.
It's one file created from Revit
The other one is export from Revit in dwg shapes.

Sorry for my english
Design is something you should do with both hands. My 2d hand , my 3d hand ..

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Re: Exporting DWG (similar as PDF)
« Reply #47 on: June 04, 2015, 05:01:52 AM »
Its the graphical changes from revit to DWG I can't stand. In the dwg export, it changes things for no apparent reason.
See below

Top image is PDF from Revit, bottom image is DWG export
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue