Author Topic: My conversion from string to double  (Read 8105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Coder

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 827
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2015, 06:48:04 AM »
Hi gile

There is not any option in Add -> existing Project and the other option that is Existing item can find the project .


gile

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2507
  • Marseille, France
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2015, 07:08:36 AM »
Right click the solution rather than the project (you can add a project to a solution, not to another project).
Speaking English as a French Frog

Coder

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 827
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2015, 07:30:49 AM »
I am sorry , my mistake with the name of icons and buttons because I am still searching for my way in that dark and huge world of codes to have a step on its deck to start and you guys helped me a lot .

Many thanks for your great work and time .

Finally I got it loaded as you have advised me to do , but I see no difference in adding this palette to the first one , both work the same unless I am missing something important here .

Keep the great work gile , you are very famous in the world of AutoCAD programming and lots of friends of mine reading your French book in Autolisp and they very happy with it .

Thank you .  :-)

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6150
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2015, 09:30:38 AM »
and lots of friends of mine reading your French book in Autolisp
English version?
I'd buy it.

gile

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2507
  • Marseille, France
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2015, 10:55:48 AM »
English version?
I'd buy it.

It's free !!!

But in French...
Speaking English as a French Frog

gile

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2507
  • Marseille, France
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2015, 12:48:39 PM »
Finally I got it loaded as you have advised me to do , but I see no difference in adding this palette to the first one , both work the same unless I am missing something important here .

Sorry if I didn't clearly explain this.
The ConverterPalette_18 project was added to the solution to target AutoCAD versions prior to 2013.

Assuming the original ConverterPalette projects targets AutoCAD 2013 libraries, the generated assembly will work with A2013 to 2016 but not with prior version due to the 2013 "big split" in the AutoCAD .NET libraries.
To resolve this compatibilty issue, the ConverterPalette_18 project have been added to the solution. It references AutoCAD libraries of a prior to 2013 version (A2012 for example which is the first version supporting the Autoloader mechanism, another feature shown by this sample).
The ConverterPalette_18 project has the same folder structure as the original project which shares all source code and resources with it so that there's only one source to maintain for two different built projects. As you can see, in the ConverterPalette_18 project folders there're only links to the original ConverterPalette project source files.
Speaking English as a French Frog

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6150
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #21 on: May 13, 2015, 01:17:56 AM »
English version?
I'd buy it.

It's free !!!

But in French...
Probably worth learning french, would help picking up girls also I would imagine.


Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #22 on: May 13, 2015, 01:24:46 AM »


But in French...
Probably worth learning french, would help picking up girls also I would imagine.

And swearing sounds a little more graceful  ...
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Coder

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 827
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2015, 01:42:51 AM »
Finally I got it loaded as you have advised me to do , but I see no difference in adding this palette to the first one , both work the same unless I am missing something important here .

Sorry if I didn't clearly explain this.
The ConverterPalette_18 project was added to the solution to target AutoCAD versions prior to 2013.

Assuming the original ConverterPalette projects targets AutoCAD 2013 libraries, the generated assembly will work with A2013 to 2016 but not with prior version due to the 2013 "big split" in the AutoCAD .NET libraries.
To resolve this compatibilty issue, the ConverterPalette_18 project have been added to the solution. It references AutoCAD libraries of a prior to 2013 version (A2012 for example which is the first version supporting the Autoloader mechanism, another feature shown by this sample).
The ConverterPalette_18 project has the same folder structure as the original project which shares all source code and resources with it so that there's only one source to maintain for two different built projects. As you can see, in the ConverterPalette_18 project folders there're only links to the original ConverterPalette project source files.

Thank you for taking the time to explain the differences , it is very clear to me now .

Many thanks

Coder

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 827
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2015, 02:22:29 AM »
Hi gile

A question come up to mind about loading a project in different Autocad releases .  :-)

My current program should work on all Autocad releases start from 2013 up to latest version , correct ?

Suppose that I want to run my program in AutoCAD 2012 or before , how to make it working with these old releases ?

Many thanks.

gile

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2507
  • Marseille, France
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2015, 04:09:51 AM »
This is exactly the purpose of my upper description.

The ConverterPalette_18 project have to reference AutoCAD 2012 libraries (acdbmgd.dll and acmgd.dll from ObjectARX 2012 or AutoCAD 2012 install folder).
The ConverterPalette_18 project have also to target the corresponding Framework (4.0 for AutoCAD 2012).
The ConverterPalette_18 project must have the same folder structure as the original one but each folder contains links to the source files in the original project (right click on a folder > Add > Existing item... > browse to the corresponding folder in the original project > select the files and click "Add as link" in the Add popup).
This way you have the code source files really exists only once and are shared by the two projects. When you build the solution, both projects generates their own assembly. So, for A2012 you have to load the ConverterPalette_18.dll and for A2013+ the ConverterPalette_19.dll.

If you have a look to each project properties, you'll see that with the Release build generated assemblies are automatically directed to the ConverterPalette.bundle\Contents folder.
If you use the Autoloader mechanism with the ConverterPalette.bundle folder, the PackageContents.xml file takes care to load the right assembly for the target version.


Speaking English as a French Frog

Coder

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 827
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2015, 04:32:16 AM »
Great ,

I just wanted to know how to make my program working with Autocad releases 2012 or before, when I build the program to have the .dll file to send to friends to use ?
Should I download the ObjectARX 2012 and make a reference to them to be able to run the program on older releases than Acad 2012 ?
Would the Framework number should be changed accordingly ?

I am sorry for asking you a lot :-)

Regards

Andrey Bushman

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 864
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2015, 05:01:50 AM »
I just wanted to know how to make my program working with Autocad releases 2012 or before, when I build the program to have the .dll file to send to friends to use ?
Sometimes the quality of the software can turn friends into enemies... :) Therefore qualitatively test your code before giving it to your friends.

Quote from: Andrey Bushman
AutoCAD 2009 and newer versions are interesting for me. Therefore usually I compile the same code sources for AutoCAD 2009, 2013 and 2015. These assemblies can be loaded successfully in any AutoCAD newer than 2008. Thus it is necessary to create three projects in a solution. One of them has original code source files, other two projects has the links to these code source files. Three projects is not a problem. But I want to test my code, because quality my software is important for me. So, it is necessary to add three additional projects with unit tests.

But can I be 100% sure what my code will works fine in AutoCAD 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2016 without testing in these AutoCAD versions? No, I can't and nobody can't. Therefore it is necessary to create the testing  projects for each AutoCAD newer than 2008. At this case my projects count is 3 + 8 = 11. Oh, it is big count... if it is required copy these projects to other computer, which has own locations of SDK (not the same like mine), then I must update all referenses of SDK manually. It is tiresome operation. Of course, as the decission of this problem it is possible to store local copies of the necessary DLL SDK files in each project: at this case your project will be portable [between computers].

I want to have two projects only [an extension and its unit tests] and compile it for all necessary AutoCAD versions through "a single click of mouse".  I want to have opportunity of debugging [breackpoints, etc] my code in any AutoCAD version newer than 2008 and quickly switching between them. Also, compilation result must to have a "magic button" for my tests launching in each AutoCAD version [on the local or remote machine] and getting the testing results (summary and individually) in HTML format. Besides, I want to have opportunity to compile and launch unit tests without any changes for different Testing Frameworks: Gallio and NUnit.

Should I download the ObjectARX 2012 and make a reference to them to be able to run the program on older releases than Acad 2012 ?
Would the Framework number should be changed accordingly ?
Each AutoCAD has own SDK version and target .NET Framework. About compatibility of AutoCAD and .Net Framework versions you can read here (you can translate it Russian to English through any online translator). SDK old versions you can download here. Last three versions SDK you can download from the Autodesk site. Often your extensions can be launched in other AutoCAD versions which can use the same .NET Framework version. For example, my extensions which are compiled for AutoCAD 2009 work fine for AutoCAD 2010, 2011 and 2012 (the same DLL file). Big changes was done in AutoCAD 2013.

Advice: be not lazy for reading the documentation and using of Google before your questions asking.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2015, 05:47:43 AM by Andrey Bushman »

Coder

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 827
Re: My conversion from string to double
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2015, 07:57:35 AM »
Hello Andrey Bushman

Frankly , I am lost with your reply , I am sorry .  :-(