Author Topic: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016  (Read 13165 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 616
Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« on: May 08, 2015, 05:39:41 AM »
hello
how many of you are piss...angry because of annoying icons on status bar at autocad 15/16.

is someone interesting to wrote a small dialog with buttons or images to switch status ? image attached.
not sure how many can be replicate but neeeeed to try. new interface was totally broken with stupid "improvements".

kruuger

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 616
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2015, 07:08:00 AM »
regular buttons and dcl.
k.

huiz

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 870
  • Certified Prof C3D
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 09:57:34 AM »
Maybe it is possible to create a CUIx?

A dialog can be always on top but if you switch to Word or another application the dialog is still visible.

The conclusion is justified that the initialization of the development of critical subsystem optimizes the probability of success to the development of the technical behavior over a given period.

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2423
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2015, 10:03:25 AM »
Meh.  I've  got much more difficult things to deal with than pictures vs. text.  Gotta be flexible, no telling what the software is going to look like in a couple of years or which other software will be required to use.

Make a CUIx with command definitions.  Then you can dump those to toolbar, menu, or my first preference - a Ribbon panel.  Tear off the panel and use it as a super-toolbar.  Problem solved, on to the next.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 616
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2015, 10:06:29 AM »
Maybe it is possible to create a CUIx?

A dialog can be always on top but if you switch to Word or another application the dialog is still visible.
not sure what do you mean ? in cuix we create toolbar with icons. that's not what i want.
dialog will be always closed. with simple shortcut we open DCL, set buttons as require and close dialog.
OpenDcl can deal with dock pallete.
kruuger

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 616
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2015, 10:08:23 AM »
Meh.  I've  got much more difficult things to deal with than pictures vs. text.  Gotta be flexible, no telling what the software is going to look like in a couple of years or which other software will be required to use.

Make a CUIx with command definitions.  Then you can dump those to toolbar, menu, or my first preference - a Ribbon panel.  Tear off the panel and use it as a super-toolbar.  Problem solved, on to the next.
ribbon is crap, not efficient for me.
how you can indicate let say ortho status on toolbar ? it is again icon.
k.

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2423
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2015, 10:09:54 AM »
ribbon is crap

Respectfully disagree.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1447
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2015, 10:11:28 AM »
You can refresh the toolbar images but the toolbar is effectively being killed off after AutoCAD started shipping with toolbar - "0" system variable along with the menubar - "0" system variable. I love the ribbon, the contextual aspect of it has been exponentially beneficial.

Whats the issue with the status bar?


Master_Shake

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1447
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2015, 10:51:51 AM »
A tool bar or DCL wouldn't be a proper fix as toolbars can only be docked to the 4 borders of the drawing window.

A good fix would be to learn the keyboard shortcuts of each status bar button and set statusbar variable to 0

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12390
  • London, England
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2015, 12:00:58 PM »
You could use a keyboard overlay with the text variants.  :-D

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 616
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2015, 06:55:20 PM »
 
A good fix would be to learn the keyboard shortcuts of each status bar button and set statusbar variable to 0
i know most of them. I prefer keyb shortcuts.
I don't want to use this to switch them but rather to visually check (with quick glance) if all of them are with correct state when autocad going crazy.
k.

kruuger

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 616
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2015, 06:56:45 PM »
You could use a keyboard overlay with the text variants.  :-D
It will holds on monitor over the icons??  :-D
k.

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12390
  • London, England
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #13 on: May 08, 2015, 07:11:51 PM »
An alternative solution:

Code: [Select]
(setvar 'modemacro "$(if,$(=,$(getvar,gridmode),1),\"GRID | \",\"\")$(if,$(<,$(getvar,osmode),16384),\"OSNAP | \",\"\")$(if,$(=,$(getvar,orthomode),1),\"ORTHO | \",\"\")")

hmspe

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 339
Re: Replicate status bar TEXT not icons - autocad 2015/2016
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2015, 07:45:11 PM »
You could look at AcadStatButton.zip in the freebies section at manusoft.com.  Not sure if it works with the latest Autocad but I used it successfully with Autocad before I switched to Bricscad a few years ago. 
"Science is the belief in the ignorance of experts." - Richard Feynman