Author Topic: LISP & VLISP with BricsCad  (Read 7121 times)

Bill Tillman

LISP & VLISP with BricsCad
« on: April 23, 2015, 09:58:07 AM »
I am looking for an alternative to AutoCAD for some LISP code operations. Confidentially, I've always been told that the AutoCAD alternatives out there are fine but none of them will run LISP/VLISP apps. Today I visited Bricsys' website and they are claiming their products runs LISP just fine. Now, the question for a lamb brain like me is does it also run VLISP code...? Any comments or suggestions will be appreciated. BTW - this project is strictly 2D drawings, no 3D needed.

Marc'Antonio Alessi

• Swamp Rat
  • Marco
Re: LISP & VLISP with BricsCad
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2015, 10:39:18 AM »
I have been working for many years with Bricscad and I can say that all of my programs (not very complex) works with Bricscad.
There are some cases that require a small adaptation to work on both platforms.

ur_naz

• Newt
  • Made in Ukraine
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2015, 10:54:35 AM »
As for me bricscad has better lisp&dcl engine then autocad. but you can't compile apps with separate namespace as in autocad  :crazy2:

Woabow

• Newt
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2015, 11:11:05 AM »
Don't worry, it wil run on Bricscad. I almost never haven to change anything to make it run on Bricscad and I have more than 10.000 lines of code.

And, last time I tested, it's more than 10 times faster (of course depending on what you do).
« Last Edit: April 23, 2015, 11:16:56 AM by Woabow »

danallen

« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2015, 12:38:43 PM »
my 10,000+ lines generally work, some tweaks were necessary to move to Brics. The big issue is no VLIDE and no error checking as code runs. Makes debugging a PITA

hmspe

• Bull Frog
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2015, 12:53:31 PM »