Author Topic: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground  (Read 3356 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ekoneo

  • Newt
  • Posts: 63
Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« on: December 18, 2014, 04:41:20 AM »
Anybody can idetfy what is wrong in this photo?

I want to prepare a free link that can be use cut or fill depending given cut slope and fill slope values.
Also this link ends when it catches the existing ground if its length smaller than given length.

When I use this link consecutively as definition a daylight system, an error occures.
If a link catces the EG, next link mustn't occure. In my example, although first link catches EG, second link occures.
Iteresting error becouse my example examines the its origin is under EG or not.
Can anybody help me to find the error here?

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2014, 06:38:30 AM »
you want to use CONDITIONAL assembly to define the 'conditions' where or when slopes, or assemblies will be applied.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ekoneo

  • Newt
  • Posts: 63
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2014, 08:05:21 AM »
Yes I want to prepare a link for general purposes.
It is possible to combine default conditional subassemblies, generic links and daylight subassemblies to define.
But In this case too many subassemblies are requred. Even default conditional subassemly works with horizontal distance.
Sometimes vertical limititations are required.

Although my subassemblies are symetrical, why only right side goes wrong?

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2014, 08:14:02 AM »
Yes I want to prepare a link for general purposes.
It is possible to combine default conditional subassemblies, generic links and daylight subassemblies to define.
But In this case too many subassemblies are requred. Even default conditional subassemly works with horizontal distance.
Sometimes vertical limititations are required.

Although my subassemblies are symetrical, why only right side goes wrong?

Most likely, your 'conditions' are not set wit a gap in the condition, e.g.
IF CUT 0-.55
followed by
IF CUT .55-1 - should be .56-1

seen this very problem in office last week by one of our engineers.

There are no 'default' conditional assemblies.

Also there is no limit to the number of conditions one can test for, and apply different assemblies to.

Perhaps you should provide a 'sketch' of what your 'conditions' are; then I can advise better.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ekoneo

  • Newt
  • Posts: 63
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2014, 09:16:29 AM »
I prepared a sketch. And I add my example .pkt file.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2014, 09:21:36 AM »
You did not say you were attempting this with Sub Assembly composer.....


I suggest you go back and do this with Actual Conditional assemblies and generic links FIRST....

Then once you see how it works using those...you will stop trying to use Sub assembly composer where it isn't needed.

The issue is most likely in your pkt file....I might have a chance to look at it
However this task is easily done WITHOUT using sub assembly composer.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ekoneo

  • Newt
  • Posts: 63
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2014, 09:45:56 AM »
Sory I forgot say SAC  :oops:

Actual Conditional CutOrFill Subassembly works with only HORIZONTAL distance.
I need Conditional CutOrFill working with VERTICAL distance.

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2014, 10:19:02 AM »
here it is with links..

the offset from baseline - establishes your vertical limit
if it catches the surface
the link slope to surface link is there to give you point code P222

IF it doesn't catch EG then the conditional sub assembly takes over
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

ekoneo

  • Newt
  • Posts: 63
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2014, 11:09:00 AM »
Thank you mjfarrell. Now I am examine your .DWG file.
But there is something different. In my civil 3d linkSlopetoSurface is so different from yours.
Your linkSlopeToSurface has inactive different parameters. I think this is created by you with SAC or other methods.
Because I havent seen before this. Now I try to use ^-^
« Last Edit: December 18, 2014, 11:16:06 AM by ekoneo »

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2014, 11:15:04 AM »
Thank you mjfarrell. Now I am examine your .DWG file.
But there is something different. In my civil 3d linkSlopetoSurface is so different from yours.
Your linkSlopeToSurface takes different parameters. I think this is created by you with SAC or other methods.
Because I havent seen before this. Now I try to use ^-^

One or two of the majic of Generic Links...
They allow NEW Point and or Link Codes to be assigned to them




Also one can tell them to USE properties from other sub-assemblies
in the assemblies properties , construction tab.

And advanced function not really covered by many other than myself when I train users on assemblies.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Consecutive link error depending on existing ground
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2014, 11:18:43 AM »
see attached
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/