Author Topic: Edit block attribute when block is already a part of DWG  (Read 1854 times)

Pilatus4me

Edit block attribute when block is already a part of DWG
« on: August 26, 2014, 05:39:36 PM »
The basics: Autocad 2014 VB.net

I have no issues opening the autocad file or doing a save as but I am very new to autocad and even newer as far as getting vb.net to work with it. For the last 2 days I have been searching both here and all over the internet and either what I am seeing doesn't make sense to me or when I try it there are numerous bugs in the sample code.

What I want to do: Open an autocad file, insert data into various block attributes (file has several blocks), then save the file with a different name. Repeat until all of the records in the database are done.

There has to be a relatively simple way to do this but I am too blurry eyed to figure it out. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Even pointing me to resources that are accurate would be great.

Jeff H

• Needs a day job
Re: Edit block attribute when block is already a part of DWG
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2014, 06:12:34 PM »
The basics: Autocad 2014 VB.net

I have no issues opening the autocad file or doing a save as but I am very new to autocad and even newer as far as getting vb.net to work with it. For the last 2 days I have been searching both here and all over the internet and either what I am seeing doesn't make sense to me or when I try it there are numerous bugs in the sample code.

What I want to do: Open an autocad file, insert data into various block attributes (file has several blocks), then save the file with a different name. Repeat until all of the records in the database are done.

There has to be a relatively simple way to do this but I am too blurry eyed to figure it out. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Even pointing me to resources that are accurate would be great.
Break it down

Open an autocad file
Open a drawing with or without editor?