Author Topic: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard  (Read 18285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« on: July 22, 2014, 05:10:22 PM »
Is it just me, or does anyone else have an issue with the new wizard, where the 2015 C# project template is only visible when .NET Framework 4.0 is specified in the New Project dialog, whereas the 2015 VB project template is visible when .NET Framework 4.5 is specified?



Using Visual Studio 2013 Ultimate (thank you Microsoft BizSpark!).

"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 05:37:09 PM »
First question:
Where did you get the ac2015 .NET wizard for VS2013?

I've been using a modified 2014 wizard ( when I use a wizard).
Using 2013 Pro, not Ultimate.

I don't usually use VB.net at all,
but interestingly;
2014 vb recognises net 4 no others.
2014 c# recognises 4.5, no others.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 08:32:10 AM »
First question:
Where did you get the ac2015 .NET wizard for VS2013?

Thanks for the prompt response, Kerry.

I just recently (in the last week or two?), downloaded the 2015 .NET Wizard from here (bottom of page), after reading Kean's post here:

Quote from: Kean
<snip>

Do bear in mind that to target .NET 4.5 – which is a requirement to use the API enhancements in AutoCAD 2015 – you will need to use Visual Studio 2012 or 2013: VS2010 cannot target .NET 4.5. (ObjectARX developers will have to use the toolset from VS2012 to compile their C++ modules, as that’s the compiler being used to build AutoCAD.) I’m personally now using VS2013 as a primary IDE, but make use of the VS2012 toolset when building ObjectARX modules.

<snip>

Now, I have not installed VS2012 as I had done previously, before upgrading our workstations from Win7 to Win8.1 - not sure that would change this behavior though, just not sure if I'm missing something essential for my low hanging fruit Exchange apps, as they debug and compile just fine for 2012-2015.



I've been using a modified 2014 wizard ( when I use a wizard).
Using 2013 Pro, not Ultimate.

I've historically used Express versions only, and would still if I weren't accepted into BizSpark; I can go get VS2012 if it is somehow needed.



I don't usually use VB.net at all,
but interestingly;
2014 vb recognises net 4 no others.
2014 c# recognises 4.5, no others.

Nor do I, since I've been swayed to the [C#]-side of the force.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 09:02:36 AM by BlackBox »
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 08:41:48 AM »
< ..>
I just recently (in the last week or two?), downloaded the 2015 .NET Wizard from here (bottom of page), after reading Kean's post here:

< .. >

Weird for me. I don't see ac2015 for VS2013 in that listing.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 08:51:13 AM »
Interestingly, I have just uninstalled the 2015 wizard, and an extracted copy of the .ZIP I had made that remained, suddenly shows up under .NET 4.5 Framework in VS2013.

Also, FWIW, I re-installed both 2014 & 2015 wizards and the former only installs to ..\Documents\Visual Studio 2012\ folder, whereas the latter installs there, as well as ..\Documents\Visual Studio 2013\ folder... However, neither the extracted, nor the new .ZIP are shown under .NET 4.5 Framework again. Grr.
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2014, 08:55:46 AM »
< ..>
I just recently (in the last week or two?), downloaded the 2015 .NET Wizard from here (bottom of page), after reading Kean's post here:

Quote from: Kean
<snip>

Do bear in mind that to target .NET 4.5 – which is a requirement to use the API enhancements in AutoCAD 2015 – you will need to use Visual Studio 2012 or 2013: VS2010 cannot target .NET 4.5. (ObjectARX developers will have to use the toolset from VS2012 to compile their C++ modules, as that’s the compiler being used to build AutoCAD.) I’m personally now using VS2013 as a primary IDE, but make use of the VS2012 toolset when building ObjectARX modules.

<snip>

< .. >

Weird for me. I don't see ac2015 for VS2013 in that listing.

Weird that Kean would use something that's not listed on that web page... Good thing all of my solutions open, debug, and compile just fine with it... Just the template 'placement' is a bit wonky. :-)



[Edit] - Also weird that the 2015 wizard 'knows' to install for an IDE that it doesn't support (according to that web page)... So weird:

... the [2015 wizard] installs [to the ..\Documents\Visual Studio 2012\ folder], as well as ..\Documents\Visual Studio 2013\ folder.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 09:09:43 AM by BlackBox »
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2014, 09:47:45 AM »
< ..>
I just recently (in the last week or two?), downloaded the 2015 .NET Wizard from here (bottom of page), after reading Kean's post here:

< .. >

Looks like I'm having a really bad day,
I can't see a link on that page of Through The Interface for the .NET wizard for ac2015 in VS2013.

kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6150
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2014, 09:54:11 AM »
I do not see it at the bottom of Through the Interface but do see it on the ADN link

http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/files/AutoCAD_2015_dotnet_wizards.zip

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2014, 09:55:13 AM »
Without changing the subject too much ;
this is from the 2010 API wishlist http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2010/05/theres-still-time-to-fill-out-the-2010-api-wishlist-surveys.html



How many of those items have been addressed in the last 4 years ??

AutoDEsk should start taking lessons from someone like Unity about supporting developers and documentation and tutorials ....
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2014, 09:59:48 AM »
I do not see it at the bottom of Through the Interface but do see it on the ADN link

http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/files/AutoCAD_2015_dotnet_wizards.zip

Jeff, Have you tried that ?? It's dated 2013/11/19. Does it support ac2015 in VS2013 ??

This is a month later.
https://github.com/ADN-DevTech/AutoCAD-Net-Wizards/blob/master/AutoCADNetWizardsInstaller/AutoCADNetWizards.msi



« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 10:03:25 AM by Kerry »
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2014, 10:01:27 AM »
< ..>
I just recently (in the last week or two?), downloaded the 2015 .NET Wizard from here (bottom of page), after reading Kean's post here:

< .. >

Looks like I'm having a really bad day,
I can't see a link on that page of Through The Interface for the .NET wizard for ac2015 in VS2013.

I'm sorry to hear that, Kerry; you do seem to be particularly prickly today.

I do not recall saying that I found a link for 'the .NET wizard for ac2015 in VS2013', well, at all.

I did however site Kean as stating that one would 'need Visual Studio 2012 or 2013' and that the latter is what he (Kean) uses as primary IDE. Further, the fact is that the 2015 wizard installs to 2013's ..\ProjectTemplates\ folder, regardless of the non-existent "2013" string on the ADN web page, or link elsewhere.

The purpose of this thread was to confirm that there's an issue with the 2015 wizard's C# template that is installed for 2013 IDE; nothing more.

I appreciate your time nonetheless, and sincerely hope that your day gets better.

Cheers
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 10:04:42 AM by BlackBox »
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2014, 10:04:02 AM »
I do not see it at the bottom of Through the Interface but do see it on the ADN link

http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/files/AutoCAD_2015_dotnet_wizards.zip

Jeff, Have you tried that ?? It's dated 2013/11/19. Does it support ac2015 in VS2013 ??

Yes, mostly... See this for more information on some shortcomings.
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

LE3

  • Guest
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2014, 10:06:20 AM »
Without changing the subject too much ;
this is from the 2010 API wishlist http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2010/05/theres-still-time-to-fill-out-the-2010-api-wishlist-surveys.html



How many of those items have been addressed in the last 4 years ??

AutoDEsk should start taking lessons from someone like Unity about supporting developers and documentation and tutorials ....

If they can't take care of spelling, on their own docs.....(for example: arxmgd.chm) - see image :)

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2014, 10:06:40 AM »


I do not recall saying that I found a link for the .NET wizard for ac2015 in VS2013, well, at all.

< .. >
Cheers

BlackBox,
Your original post says you are using 2013 Ultimate to develop for ac2015, and that the wizard (with references to Keans blog) was faulty.
I don't see how I can read that any other way.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2014, 10:35:07 AM »
Your original post says you are using 2013 Ultimate to develop for ac2015...

I am.

... and that the wizard (with references to Keans blog) was faulty.

It is.

I don't see how I can read that any other way.

Nor do I, and yet you persist, despite yourself using 'a modified 2014 wizard in VS2013 Pro' (is there a link for that?)... So weird.
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2014, 10:52:10 AM »
Is it just me, or does anyone else have an issue with the new wizard, where the 2015 C# project template is only visible when .NET Framework 4.0 is specified in the New Project dialog, whereas the 2015 VB project template is visible when .NET Framework 4.5 is specified?



Using Visual Studio 2013 Ultimate (thank you Microsoft BizSpark!).

OK, let's start again.
How old is the 'new' wizard ? What is the MSI date ?

kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2014, 10:56:31 AM »
OK, let's start again.
How old is the 'new' wizard ? What is the MSI date ?

As you've already mentioned, 11/19/2013 (+/- 8 months ago)... Six days after Visual Studio 2013 was released.
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2014, 10:59:53 AM »
OK, let's start again.
How old is the 'new' wizard ? What is the MSI date ?

As you've already mentioned, 11/19/2013 (+/- 8 months ago)... Six days after Visual Studio 2013 was released.

OK, so it's not new, it's the original build.
I took your post to indicate there was an updated Wizard, and when I couldn't find it I asked the question. End of story.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2014, 11:10:02 AM »
OK, let's start again.
How old is the 'new' wizard ? What is the MSI date ?

As you've already mentioned, 11/19/2013 (+/- 8 months ago)... Six days after Visual Studio 2013 was released.

OK, so it's not new, it's the original build.
I took your post to indicate there was an updated Wizard, and when I couldn't find it I asked the question. End of story.

... Thank you, that totally made my day.

No, it's not new, it's just whatever they put up as 'most current' for folks to download. Having started a new job back in January, I'm only now getting into any of this, and submitting Exchange app updates to support 2015 products.

Cheers
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2014, 11:34:41 AM »
Thanks to Balaji, the root issue with the 2015 Wizard has been identified, and resolved:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/NET/AutoCAD-2015-NET-Wizard/m-p/5184757#M41540
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2014, 08:45:33 PM »

Thanks for the update Mat.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: AutoCAD 2015 .NET Wizard
« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2014, 07:12:04 AM »
You're welcome, Sir. :-)
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."