Author Topic: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console  (Read 6377 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ROBBO

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 217
Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« on: March 17, 2014, 02:10:51 PM »
I have batch file thus:

FOR %%f IN ("c:\Test\*.dwg") DO "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\accoreconsole.exe" /i "%%f" /s "c:\Test\Plot2PDF.scr" /l en-US

and script file Plot2PDF.scr thus:

(COMMAND "TILEMODE" "0")
(COMMAND    "-PLOT"
      "Y"
      ""
      "DWG To PDF.pc3"
      "ISO full bleed A1 (841.00 x 594.00 MM)"
      "Millimeters"
      "Landscape"
      "N"
      "W"
                                   "0,0"
                                   "841,594"
      "1:1"
      "C"
      "Y"
      "PLOT.ctb"
      "Y"
      "N"
      "N"
      "N"
      ""; Name of file
      "Y"
      "Y"      )

The batch file works as expected, but with one exception, for some reason the embedded (paintbrush picture) image logo does not appear on the PDFs produced using the core console. Image is printed when script file is run within AutoCAD.

Can anyone shed any light on why the image is not printed when the batch file above is used with the core console?

Reference: http://autocadtips.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/up-and-running-with-the-2013-core-console/

Kind regards, Robbo.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 03:06:01 PM by ROBBO »
The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on.
It is never of any use to oneself.

Oscar Wilde
(1854-1900, Irish playwright, poet and writer)

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2437
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2014, 03:03:42 PM »
Is it an image reference, or an OLE?
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7529
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2014, 03:06:29 PM »
Not an answer to your question, but why don't you just use PUBLISH?

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

ROBBO

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 217
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2014, 03:09:30 PM »
OLE
The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on.
It is never of any use to oneself.

Oscar Wilde
(1854-1900, Irish playwright, poet and writer)

ROBBO

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 217
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2014, 03:19:19 PM »
Good Question.  The core console method seems to be more efficient for me. One script file held on system directory and a batch file for each project filed with dwgs appears to be a simple way to batch plot to pdf with a click of a button. Just my current project I am working on has a client's supplied drawing border with a embedded  image logo.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 03:39:36 PM by ROBBO »
The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on.
It is never of any use to oneself.

Oscar Wilde
(1854-1900, Irish playwright, poet and writer)

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2437
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2014, 04:54:07 PM »
OLE

I believe OLE requires the GUI in order to resolve the object.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

ROBBO

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 217
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2014, 03:43:14 AM »
Thanks dgorsman, you hit the nail on the head.
The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on.
It is never of any use to oneself.

Oscar Wilde
(1854-1900, Irish playwright, poet and writer)

ChrisCarlson

  • Guest
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2014, 07:54:10 AM »
Interesting, does this print out all layout tabs, or all views? Little confused on how it's knowing what to print.

BlackBox

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3770
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2014, 11:35:23 AM »
Not an answer to your question, but why don't you just use PUBLISH?

Since 2011 I've been using Autopublish to produce an electronic print file at drawing save.



FWIW -

I did find this feature to be a bit inefficient by producing electronic print files for model, and XREf only drawings, which is why I developed this .NET plug-in a few years ago.

Cheers
"How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

ROBBO

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 217
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2014, 12:36:52 PM »
Chris,
Model tab can be plotted via the core console, but not sure how a script can be written to plot all layout tabs as lisp routines will not work with UI I believe. Our company policy here is one layout tab per dwg file.

Blackbox,
I am aware of autopublish, but was not convinced and perhaps a danger a WIP drawing could be issued in error by A N Other. Although perhaps something to look into. I think there are pros and cons for both. Just like the idea of using the core console for plotting.

Cheers, Robbo.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2014, 03:37:17 PM by ROBBO »
The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on.
It is never of any use to oneself.

Oscar Wilde
(1854-1900, Irish playwright, poet and writer)

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7529
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2014, 03:05:53 PM »
Chris,
..  Our company policy here is one layout per dwg file.

....
Cheers, Robbo.


Yikes!  :blank:

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

trogg

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 255
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2014, 08:13:48 PM »
Our company standard is one Layout Tab per drawing as well so I feel your pain that can be associated with that.

To help with the batch processing with these drawings, you may need to use the PUBLISH command.

Since Autodesk has seemed to have dropped ScriptPro, and also considering the limits of the core console, another route to pursue in both batch plotting drawings that have embedded images and apply a script or routine or whatever...  is Andrea's idea of using the PUBLISH command combined with the a startup suite type of setup that loads and runs upon opening each drawing and then plots each drawing...
http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=45884.0;all
This may not be an immediate solution but it is worth trying out if needed.

At work we tend to avoid embedded images so I didn't even think of this situation when I put that blog post together. So good catch.
~Greg

ROBBO

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 217
Re: Batch print to PDF with 2014 Core Console
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2014, 02:57:03 AM »
Thanks Greg. Will explore this.

Cheers, Robbo.
The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on.
It is never of any use to oneself.

Oscar Wilde
(1854-1900, Irish playwright, poet and writer)