Author Topic: Loop through layers and blocks to search for tags  (Read 2810 times)

Floris

Loop through layers and blocks to search for tags
« on: March 10, 2014, 06:18:47 AM »
Hi all,

I'm new to lisp programming so I was searching the internet for some examples for a project that I'm working on.
However I could not find anything related to this but found this awesome forum luckily :-)

I'm looking for a code snippet that helps me with the following:

I have drawings that needs to have specific (meta) tags in them for document control purposes.
However, these can be located in multiple layers and in multiple blocks.
So the thing I am looking for is a function that would do:
- Loop trough all the layers & blocks
- Within the blocks search for a predefined list of tag names.

When done, it should display:
- A list of tags that were found together with it's value and layername
- A list of tags that were not found within the drawing.

It would be a bonus if it could write this to an external textfile (CSV or similar).. but I would already be more than happy if I would have something to start with.

Hope that someone can help me out and point me into the right direction.

Thank you in advance,
Greetings,
Floris.

irneb

• Water Moccasin
  • ACad R9-2016, Revit Arch 6-2016
Re: Loop through layers and blocks to search for tags
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2014, 06:49:26 AM »
A few questions:
  • By the layer, do you mean the tag itself is on a Layer inside the block, or are you referring to the layer on which the block is inserted
  • What type of metadata? Is this only attributes, or things like XData as well?
  • Do you have a list of tag names / identifying codes which can be searched through? Or should all found simply form part of the output?
  • Is there only some layers (i.e. a list of them) or should any layer be used?