Author Topic: Controlling linetypes in xrefs  (Read 18156 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« on: April 05, 2005, 08:27:43 AM »
Please help me...
I'm having a blonde day (oh not again says everybody :lol: )

We have a drawing which we have set the ltscale as 1 and the psltscale as 0 (as per a software package recommendation). This drawing is then inserted as an xref into another drawing, and the lines are shown as solid (visibly), not dashed as they are supposed to be.

What am I missing here?

Many thanks
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

Dinosaur

  • Guest
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 08:34:07 AM »
You need to make the settings in the drawing you are bringing the xref into as well.  To maintain these colors & ltypes in this drawing regardless of what happens in the xref, you can set the visretain variable to "1", if set at "0" your drawing will reflect the current status within the xref.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2005, 09:05:41 AM »
I may be thick today.
I have set the visretain to 0 and it has made no difference. Is there any other setting that controls the dashed line?
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2005, 09:18:15 AM »
ltscale in the new drawing
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2005, 09:26:43 AM »
Not the ltscale, both drawings have an ltscale of 1.

Thanks for trying tho
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

CADaver

  • Guest
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2005, 09:46:26 AM »
VIEWRES higher?
PSLTSCALE?

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2005, 09:50:59 AM »
Quote from: CADaver
VIEWRES higher?
PSLTSCALE?


I'll go and try them.
Now will you go and get yourself better :x
Many thanks
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

Dinosaur

  • Guest
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2005, 09:53:39 AM »
Ignore any settings in the drawing that is being brought in by xref.
Set everything the way you need it in the layer manager of the new drawing
If the plot scales are all the same in your new drawing, set:
     ltscale to the drawing scale
     psltscale in viewports to "0"
     visretain to "1"
If you will be using different plot scales, set:
     ltscale to "1"
     psltscale in viewports to "1"
     visretain to "1"
NOTE:  While in modelspace and not in a viewport, the lines will all appear to be continuous.  You can set ltscale to an appropriate number while editing, but must change it back to "1" before plotting.  There are a few routines around the vault to help with this.

CADaver

  • Guest
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2005, 09:59:03 AM »
Quote from: jonesy
Now will you go and get yourself better :x
Many thanks
awaiting pickup

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4075
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2005, 09:59:55 AM »
We use a LTScale value of 0.6 of our dimscale.  Here is a vba app that will set your ltscale automatically if you switch layout tabs.
Code: [Select]
Private Sub AcadDocument_LayoutSwitched(ByVal LayoutName As String)
Dim dblLTScale As Double
Dim dblDimScale As Double
dblLTScale = 0.6 * (Val(ThisDrawing.GetVariable("DIMSCALE")))
If dblLTScale = 0 Then
dblLTScale = 0.6
End If
    With ThisDrawing
        If .ActiveSpace = acModelSpace Then
            .SetVariable "LTSCALE", dblLTScale
            ThisDrawing.Regen acAllViewports
            Exit Sub
        Else
            .SetVariable "LTSCALE", 0.6
            .SetVariable "PSLTSCALE", 1
            ThisDrawing.Regen acAllViewports
            Exit Sub
        End If
    End With
Exit Sub
End Sub
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

Bob Garner

  • Guest
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2005, 11:04:07 AM »
Is the scale of the "master" drawing the same scale as the Xref?  If they're different, you have to "adjust" the linetype scale to appear correct.  I believe you have to multiply the Xref linetype scale by the reciprocal of the plotscale.  Does what I'm saying seem clear?  It's early morning and I haven't had enough coffee.

Bob

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2005, 09:32:10 AM »
Ah ha.
Maybe this has something to do with it!

I have since found out that this scheme is coming in from different companies, and some of them seem to be drawn in metric (our standard) and some are having to be scaled up by 2.54 to plot correctly. The whole scheme seems to be a bit of a nightmare. Its one I will be looking at in the not too distant future to try and sort out. (Heeellllpp) No doubt I will be venting in the vent when trying to sort the scheme out.
Many thanks for the suggestions I have had so far
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

MikePerry

  • Guest
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2005, 05:10:00 PM »
Hi

Take a look at system variables Measureinit and Measurement (<- I think this is the one that could be the answer to your problem).

Have a good one, Mike

diarmuid

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 417
Controlling linetypes in xrefs
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2005, 04:45:07 AM »
I was away on holidays so it is only now that i have seen your post.

here's the soloution.

autocad has a variable called measurement.  

It sets drawing units as English or metric for the current drawing only. Specifically, MEASUREMENT controls which hatch pattern and linetype files an existing drawing uses when it is opened.

in laymans terms:  a hatchscale in an imerial drawing of 1 will display the same hatch in a meric drawing at a scale of 25.4 and vice versa. for instance, if measurment is set to 1 and you load linetypes it tries to load acadiso.lin (the meric settings linetypefile) and if measurement is set to 0 it will try to load acad.lin (the imperial file) so you can now see your problem.

o.k. heres how you fix your problem.

i will assume that you are working in metric.

inside the xref type in measurement, set it to 1 or 0. (lets say 1 for this example) reload all your linetypes and purge the drawing. save.

in the "sheet drawing" you will have to detach the xref if it is already loaded and purge.  type in measurement and set it to 1 (the same as the xref)  this means that both drawings (the sheet and the xref) will now display the hatch and linetype scales in the same format (in this case metric)


hope this helps

Regards

Diarmuid :)
If you want to win something run the 100m, if you want to experience something run a marathon