Author Topic: Layout Page Setup ?  (Read 2352 times)

yarnstormer

Layout Page Setup ?
« on: December 27, 2013, 09:58:43 AM »
I'm working on a large file with many layout tabs. Title block in ps, drawing in ms...the usual.

I inherited this drawing so there have been some quirks that I will address in another posting.

My usual method of creating the layouts is to get one setup like I like - then copy it - and rename it as needed. I'm working on a large gridded area making layouts one at a time.

Naturally when I do this a new "page setup" is created for each layout that bears the name of the new layout tab. I've always used separate page setups for each layout tab - entirely self taught over the years and that seemed to work but then I was not working with so many layouts at once.

A former coworker told me that I should be using the same page setup for every tab. (yes the plot style size etc IS the same so it would be possible)
Is this true?
Should I copy my layouts then go in and change the page setup style each time to one single page setup? Does it matter? I can't think what difference it would make unless I wanted to change the plot style overall or unless there is a performance issue. I can change the plot style when I publish so that's what I've been doing when needed.

oh wait...former coworker had the "show plot styles" checked and that was messing with my ps display so now that IS something I would like to change on all the tabs. Maybe something like that is a good reason to have one setup.

Rob...

• King Gator
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Layout Page Setup ?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2013, 10:03:48 AM »
I usually assign the same page set-up to each tab, full size plot to plotter, with two additional ones available within the file. One for half size plots and another for PDFs.

CAD Tech

yarnstormer

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2013, 10:23:21 AM »
ok makes sense.