Author Topic: ACAD 2014 and Visual Studio 2013 Express - Installation question.  (Read 3665 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Yosso

  • Newt
  • Posts: 36
AutoCAD DOT Wizards for 2014 and Visual Studio 2013...

You can no longer d/l Visual Studio 2012  Express from MS.

Does anyone know of any resources showing how to install the templates by hand?

Thanks in advance!

M.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 07:52:16 PM by Yosso »

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: ACAD 2014 and Visual Studio 2013 Express - Installation question.
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 07:09:06 PM »
Regards Downloading vs 2013 express :
http://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/downloads

You'll want Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop

I don't use the wizards, so can't say off the top of my head


The DVD link
http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9832270&clcid=0x409
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Yosso

  • Newt
  • Posts: 36
Re: ACAD 2014 and Visual Studio 2013 Express - Installation question.
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2013, 07:55:47 PM »
I appreciate the reply, but VS 2013 Express Desktop is installed - but I'm trying to understand how to create the Autocad project template for use with VSE 2013...as the Wizards do not work for VSE 2013 Desktop. 

All of the "Getting Started" websites only use the DOT NET Wizards.  I have yet find a "noobie" friendly guide on how to setup VSE without use of the wizards.

Sorry for the confusion. :-D


Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: ACAD 2014 and Visual Studio 2013 Express - Installation question.
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 08:33:05 PM »
One option is to set up a project solution manually and save it as a template ( FILE -> Export Template ) to be re-used.
( I thought I posted something about this here a few years ago but, couldn't put my finger on it )

Perhaps someone from AutoDesk will come by and offer a friendlier solution.

Regards,
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 08:36:50 PM by Kerry »
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Kean

  • Newt
  • Posts: 48
Re: ACAD 2014 and Visual Studio 2013 Express - Installation question.
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2013, 08:28:35 AM »
I checked in with the ADN team. They do have something that works with VS 2013 Express that they're currently testing. I'll ask them to post a note here when they have something to share (otherwise you can always ping them via the AutoCAD DevBlog, in case).

BTW - I believe the Wizard installer usually checks for a Registry key (or perhaps it's a directory - I forget). You could use RegMon (or ProcMon, these days, I suppose) to see what it's looking for and create the key (or folder) to let the installation proceed. I would think that the template file could then be copied across to the right folder for VS2013 Express, but then it's been a while since I looked at the Wizard/template infrastructure in VS, admittedly.

Kean

Yosso

  • Newt
  • Posts: 36
Re: ACAD 2014 and Visual Studio 2013 Express - Installation question.
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2013, 11:08:17 AM »
Did some additional searching and found a the location to download VS12 Express.  Uninstalled VS13 Express and installed VS12 Express.

Was then able to utilize the DOT Net Wizard for 2014.

Hopefully I'll be able to proceed with VS12 for the Tutorials and so forth.

Thank you everyone again for the advice and assistance.

Mike