Author Topic: Plot Tabs Routine  (Read 12902 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Plot Tabs Routine
« on: December 15, 2003, 05:00:20 PM »
This is my version 1 of "Plot Tabs Lisp", so there are sure to be some bugs.
Testing on my own drawings doesn't expose the program to enough variation.
So if you feel like it try it out.

It comes with a dcl file and will not operate without it.

Operation is straight forward. It will plot all tabs within the current drawing
with the exception of those flagged with a character in the tab name and the
Skip Tab flag is set.
User picks the page set up to use.
Plots multiple sets, collated or not (check box)
Plot in Tab order or sort by Alpha or numeric.
  Numeric sort finds the first hole number to use as the sort value.
  "S12" = 12  "S1" = 2 etc.
You may also reverse this order. (check box)

There is one problem I have worked around but am working on finding a solution.
That is the fact the the -plot command will prompt you for a plot file name if
you answer yes to the "Plot to file [Y/N]" prompt. But will not ask if you answer
no to the prompt. The answer needs to come from the pc3 file, I think, and I haven't
been able to access that yet.

The work around is a check box with plot to file info entered by the user. So making the
incorrect choice will cause an error or unexpected results.


(revised code)
(revised code 12/29/16)


Features:
;;;  Requires PlotTabs.dcl file to run (The lisp builds this file)
;;;  Routine to plot paperspace tabs
;;;  Pick Page Set Up to use
;;;  Sort Tabs by Alpha, Numeric, or Tab order
;;;  Reverse sort order of Tabs
;;;  Ignore Tabs with flag character, you choose character
;;;  Enter quantity of copies
;;;  Option to collate
;;;  Enter PLotTabs to run from the command line

« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 09:25:51 AM by CAB »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

daron

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2003, 05:04:36 PM »
That's nice.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2003, 09:19:58 PM »
Thanks Daron, you'll probably see some of your code in there. :)

I have a working version using vla-PlotToDevice which overcomes the
Plot to file issue but the layout must be set or saved before this is
called. Therefore you have no choice but to alter the layout settings.
So the "Save to Layout" is always true.

Can't have you cake and eat it too. i guess. :)

CAB
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2003, 08:20:24 AM »
hey cab looks great but when i use it nothing happens, no prints. i have four layouts, 3 of which i put the ~ in front of and 1 without. nothing happens  :cry: also is there a way to retain the last settings? i never print to file so how would i make the default unchecked? thanks man for your work...

dan

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2003, 08:22:19 AM »
oh yeah and how would i make the tabs function default. thanks

dan

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2003, 08:23:04 AM »
Quote from: eloquintet
hey cab looks great but when i use it nothing happens, no prints.

Do you get any error messages on the command line?
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2003, 08:45:30 AM »
Good morning Mark.


Dan, can you e-mail the drawing to me?
When you say nothing happens, did it create a plt file?

CAB
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2003, 08:45:31 AM »
nope no message. it appears as though it was successful but nothing comes out (scratches head)

Plotting viewport 1.
Effective plotting area:  8.00 wide by 10.67 high
Plotting viewport 1.
Plot Sets Complete

dunno :?:

dan

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2003, 08:48:04 AM »
>Good morning Mark.
Top of the morning to you sir. And a lovely morning it is.
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/forecasts/FLZ051.php?warncounty=FLC057&city=Tampa
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2003, 09:00:45 AM »
it snowed here in new york this weekend ya bastard  :twisted:

dan

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2003, 12:46:35 PM »
dan,
send me the dwg so i can check it out....

******

CAB
« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 09:18:43 AM by CAB »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2003, 03:18:05 PM »
cab it's in the pond.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2003, 04:54:38 PM »
Thanks dan...

Changed one line so recopy the lisp file.

dan said
Quote
is there a way to retain the last settings? i never print to file so how would i make the default unchecked? thanks man for your work...


dan the first check box "Save Page Set Ups to Layout"  if checked will indeed save the settings you are using at this moment
to plot the files. If you want to keep the setup that was there when this routine started, uncheck the box.

Make sure you uncheck the last check box  "Plot to file" or you will not get anything except a PLT file.

CAB
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

daron

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2003, 05:59:52 PM »
Wow Cab. I haven't even tried the command, just looked at the text. I did notice my work in there, but wasn't 100%. Glad my functions moved you along in this. From reading the other posts it seems you put a great deal into it. Kudos.

Quote from: eloquintet
it snowed here in new york this weekend ya bastard  :twisted:

dan


Dan, that's the difference between the North and the South. Don't blame Mark for where you live. Here in AZ the 7 day forcast threatened 70+ degrees all week. It's the middle of Decemeber for crying out loud. It should be high 50's at best.

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Plot Tabs Routine
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2003, 08:36:35 AM »
thanks cab i'll give that a try. daron i believe mark knows i'm just playin around.  :wink:

dan