Author Topic: Autodesk Exchange  (Read 5205 times)

Andrey Bushman

• Swamp Rat
Autodesk Exchange
« on: October 03, 2012, 04:23:27 AM »
Hello all,
I apologize for my bad English. My questions will be about Autodesk Exchange mechanism. Beforehand I studied official documentation.

Saving all plugins at the %ProgramFiles%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins, and  %AppData%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins is good solution. The first path is for all local users, and the second path is for individual user. But there is no third directory, the common for all network users. It is important for team working, when all users must use common resources, like fonts, linetypes, templates, plugins, e.t.c. according Company Standard. The majority of AutoCAD users work at the team! Can I assign additional, common network directory, for location of  the .bundle plugins? And in this case, I being an CAD administrator must to have the capability for disable of using %ProgramFiles%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins, and %AppData%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins: all users of my Company must use only common plugins from network. How can I manage it?

I installed some plug-ins from Autodesk Exchange for testing:
For OsnapPalette installing the rights of the administrator were required. At the installation process the password was requested twice. I thought, such rights are required when plugin will installed into the %ProgramFiles%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins directory, but OsnapPalette was installed into %AppData%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins. It is present as record at a "Programs and Components" dialog box, and can be uninstalled like a usual program.

All other plugins did not require administrator rights and was installed at %AppData%\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins too. At the installation process I didn't receive the question about target plugin directory location: at the %ProgramFiles% (installation for all local users), or at the %AppData% (installation for current user only).