Author Topic: passing a parameter or argument  (Read 2263 times)

cadman6735

passing a parameter or argument
« on: September 05, 2012, 11:57:06 AM »
Not sure of the right term, parameter or argument but can someone explain to me why my code does not work?

I am only studying how to pass a paramete nothing more

Thanks for any advise thrown my way...

Code: [Select]
(defun test (*layout* / )

(foreach layout (layoutlist)
      (if (eq (strcase layout) (strcase *layout*))
(print "yes " *layout* " is here")
(print "no " *layout* " is not here")
      )
    ) 

(princ)
)

Jeff H

• Needs a day job
Re: passing a parameter or argument
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2012, 12:08:27 PM »
General programming statement below, but I would think applies to AutoLisp

You pass information to a function by means of arguments specified when you invoke it. These arguments need to correspond with parameters that appear in the definition of the function. The arguments that you specify replace the parameters used in the definition of the function when the function executes.

ronjonp

• Needs a day job
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2012, 12:12:41 PM »
If you're looking for a layout name try something like this:
vl-position will return the index if the item is found in the list. If not found it will return NIL.
(defun test (*layout*) (vl-position (strcase *layout*) (mapcar 'strcase (layoutlist))))
So we can check with a simple if statement like so
(if (test "LAYOUt1")
  (alert "YES")
  (alert "NO")
)

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

Tharwat

• Swamp Rat
  • Hypersensitive
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2012, 12:14:13 PM »
You need the strcat function to gather the sting message .

(print (strcat "yes " *layout* " is here"))
(print (strcat "no " *layout* " is not here"))

cadman6735

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2012, 12:56:13 PM »
Thank you all

Tharwat you solved my mystery for me...  Thank you