Author Topic: ondocload lisp file for newbie  (Read 3939 times)

GISDUDE

ondocload lisp file for newbie
« on: July 07, 2012, 11:19:58 AM »
Hey all,
I'm a veteran autocad user (8years) and have used autolisp routines in various ways. I'm beginning to teach myself to create my own lisp routines.

My company is a small firm and it's only 2 guys in the CAD/GIS department. There is a file in the roaming directory that is labeled "ondocload.lsp". I understand that lisp file "connects" all our other lisp routines (probably 100 or so when I looked).

How does the docload connect with the other lisp files and when I start to add my own routines, how do I make sure they will be included?

Thanks all

Lee Mac

• Seagull
  • London, England
Re: ondocload lisp file for newbie
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2012, 01:26:19 PM »
Welcome to the Swamp :-)

I've never heard of the 'ondocload.lsp' file - this may be something specific to your company.

Usually, most users load programs via the ACADDOC.lsp, a file which will automatically load when a drawing is opened.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2012, 01:30:58 PM by Lee Mac »

Stefan

• Bull Frog
  • The most I miss IRL is the Undo button
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2012, 02:06:15 PM »
I have a file a customized lisp file and I use it to autoload all lisp that I use. Something like:
Code: [Select]
(autoload "cut" '("cut"))
(autoload "bordlay" '("bordlay"))
(autoload "pdf" '("pdf"))
(autoload "usis" '("usis"))
.... etc
My file is under a custom directory, which is on my Support File Search Path in Acad.
I load this file from Autocad Installation Path \ Support \  acad.lsp.
So maybe your file is just the same.
I think this method is very easy way to migrate. After an upgrade, all I need to do is to edit (or create) acad.lsp, write (load "my_file.lsp") in it and add some directories in Suport File Search Path.

Lee Mac

• Seagull
  • London, England
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2012, 06:09:44 PM »