Author Topic: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out  (Read 7037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13624
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« on: July 11, 2012, 08:21:55 AM »
Okay I learning Revit on the fly and I inadvertantly put a value in the celing height parameter for a room.  I need this parameter to be blank and Revit will not let me.  It thows up
Quote
enter a value or formula starting with '='
  I tried "NUL" and did not like that either.

Google search was no help.
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 08:39:38 AM »
You either have a ceiling at a height or no ceiling at all.  The height value cannot be NULL (but you COULD make it 0'-0").
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13624
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2012, 08:52:49 AM »
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2012, 09:03:32 AM »
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
If you have an exposed structure, WHY are you adding a ceiling??


architects are dumb
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13624
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2012, 09:13:26 AM »
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
If you have an exposed structure, WHY are you adding a ceiling??

From my OP with large bold print for blind MEPs
Okay I learning Revit on the fly and I inadvertently put a value in the ceiling height parameter for a room. 

architects are dumb
No argument there.  :lol:
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Nibster

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1825
  • Autocabbid
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2012, 09:16:27 AM »
what version are you using?  do you want the room height to go up to structure?  this is for calcs, right?
A2016 w/ 3D navigator

"Nobody ever knows who I am." ~anonymous

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2012, 09:24:42 AM »
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
If you have an exposed structure, WHY are you adding a ceiling??

From my OP with large bold print for blind MEPs
Okay I learning Revit on the fly and I inadvertently put a value in the ceiling height parameter for a room. 

architects are dumb
No argument there.  :lol:
If you have an exposed structure, you don't have a ceiling.  Delete it.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Nibster

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1825
  • Autocabbid
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2012, 09:29:49 AM »
and from what I can tell, he's saying that the ROOM OBJECT has a ceiling height parameter that accidentally got filled in...  :-P
A2016 w/ 3D navigator

"Nobody ever knows who I am." ~anonymous

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2012, 09:58:24 AM »
and from what I can tell, he's saying that the ROOM OBJECT has a ceiling height parameter that accidentally got filled in...  :-P
ROOMs have a LIMIT OFFSET that you can use to get the volume of the room regardless of whether or not there's a ceiling placed.  But the LIMIT OFFSET must be greater than 0.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Rob...

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3823
  • Take a little time to stop and smell the roses.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2012, 10:03:51 AM »
Pass the popcorn, please...
CAD Tech

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13624
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2012, 11:10:25 AM »
If you have an exposed structure, you don't have a ceiling.  Delete it.
I never entered any ceiling model geometry.  In ROOM OBJECT that I enter data into that populates things like room tags and room finish shedule is where I made my mistake.  I am trying to clear that there.  See attached screen shot.

ROOMs have a LIMIT OFFSET that you can use to get the volume of the room regardless of whether or not there's a ceiling placed.  But the LIMIT OFFSET must be greater than 0.
  Covered that
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13624
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2012, 11:13:40 AM »
what version are you using?
2012 Arch

do you want the room height to go up to structure? 
Yes.  Structure slopes.   I think I have this covered with
my limits offsets

this is for calcs, right?
Yes
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2012, 11:23:35 AM »
CEILING HEIGHT is not a default parameter in room objects.  I'm guessing someone has created a project parameter for that.

To check, click on MANAGE --> PROJECT PARAMETERS and see if there's a CEILING HEIGHT parameter in there.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13624
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2012, 11:54:13 AM »
Yes it is there.  And when I click the modify button, I see that its group parameter is "other" and under Categories the "Rooms" is checked.
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here for camaraderie

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2012, 01:34:42 PM »
Yes it is there.  And when I click the modify button, I see that its group parameter is "other" and under Categories the "Rooms" is checked.
Yeah, so it's something that someone made up.  You don't need a custom parameter to calculate the volume of a room.  What you need to do is turn on volume calcs (which are turned off by default to speed up Revit).  The room object will then show the calculated volume.

So now you can tell whoever it is that created that parameter that it's not needed.  And you will then be crowned the "Revit King".  :)
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io