Author Topic: Reactor causes fatal error.  (Read 10610 times)

mr_nick

Reactor causes fatal error.
« on: June 15, 2012, 03:31:17 AM »
OK, I'm fairly new to the world of reactors and have run into a problem which I'm hoping somebody can help me with.

I have created a very basic reactor as a test. As you can see, it doesn't actually do anything other than set a variable so I know the error isn't caused by something I'm doing with the reactor.

Code: [Select]
(defun np:test (reactor callbackdata / )
  (setq abc 123)
)
(if (not np:reactor1)
  (setq np:reactor1
    (vlr-command-reactor nil '((:vlr-commandwillstart . np:test)))
  )
)

OK, so the problem I have found is that if I load this reactor into a drawing and then use the MVSETUP command but escape out without completing the command, AutoCAD throws an error and becomes unusable. When I then close AutoCAD down I am met with multiple unhandled exception errors before the app finally closes.

I then altered the reactor from a vlr-command-reactor to a vlr-editor-reactor and found that with this, I am no longer met with the same error while escaping out of MVSETUP. However, when I close CAD down I am eventually left with an 'AutoCAD Application has stopped working' error dialog on screen which reports that acad.exe as crashed.

I am working on AutoCAD Architecture 2012 (although I have tried it on 2013 to with the same results) on Windows 7 64bit. I don't currently have access to a 32 bit machine to test whether it is platform specific or not.

Is there anybody out there who can confirm whether they get the same errors as me or whether I am doing something fundamentally wrong in the way I am handling reactors?

jbuzbee

• Swamp Rat
Re: Reactor causes fatal error.
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2012, 11:06:41 AM »
You have to code for ANY event that can happen: CommandStart, CommandEnded, CommandCancelled.  Have a look at the following;