Author Topic: Ability to rotate a dimension around an axis and mirror itself if necessary.  (Read 1695 times)

Keith Brown

• Swamp Rat
I am new to trying to program in LISP and need some pointers.  I am not looking for entire code, I don't mind writing it all myself but I have no idea where to start.  I just bought the The Visual LISP Developer's Bible, 2011 Edition from Amazon and that is going to be my training manual but I am a little lost.  I have started programming in vb.net and like that environment but thought I might tackle this issue with lisp.  So here is the problem that I must solve:

I have a dimension in 3D space that dimensions the length of a pipe (Autocad MEP).  I would like the ability to place the dimension on two picked points (pipe ends) and then rotate the dimension around the axis of those two points if needed.  This has the possiblity of creating a dimension that looks mirrored.  For example, a dimension that is rotated around the axis 180 degrees is mirrored.  Rotating the text 180 degrees is not enough to fix the problem.  How i do it manually is to set the UCS to the dimension and then reset the UCS exactly opposite to the current UCS and then draw the dimension.  This will place the text in the correct orientation.  This is where I get lost.

So I have no idea where to start.  I would like to be able to limit the rotation of the dimension to 45, 90, 135, 180, 225, 270, and 315 degrees but to get to that point seems pretty far away.  Is this something I should pursue with LISP or would I be more likely to get a solution using vb.net?  Can you do Jigs in LISP?  I would like to be able to select the first point and then show the dimension as you are selecting the second point.  That way the user could mirror or rotate the text before the selected the second point if it was needed.
Keith Brown | AutoCAD MEP Blog | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 / Revit MEP 2014 / EastCoast CAD/CAM addon / Visual Studio 2013

irneb

• Water Moccasin