Author Topic: help on Selecting texts by its position due to another???  (Read 3415 times)

adnhmz

help on Selecting texts by its position due to another???
« on: May 29, 2012, 04:37:21 PM »
Hello '
I am a quantity surveyor in North of Iraq. I going to calculate and tabulate the types of additional steel bars (such as T20 & L=4m) vs the distribution spaces (DS=500 cm) and to do this i used this object selection filter formula:
Begin OR
Begin AND
Layer : Dist Spac
Object : Text
Text Value : 200
End AND
Begin AND
Layer  : Bar L
Object : Text
Text Value : *7T20*
Text Value : *L=400*
End And
End OR
it has worked with me fine just i want if there is a lisp or other formula set to calculate the number of the texts group that matches with all the creterians that i want  may be this could be by selection by positions such as text close to other text by fix distances or ranges and it drawing circle containg the two texts etc. ,thus i can calculate the number of the selection set of bars that i want exactly without manually works. thank you in advance

hermanm

Re: help on Selecting texts by its position due to another???
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 09:02:23 PM »
Based on your dwg, I would proceed thusly:

1) Select all TEXT objects on two layers which call out the additional bars.
2) For each TEXT object, find the closest TEXT object on the layer which specifies the dimension (extents) of the extra reinforcing, and which is perpendicular to the additional bar callouts. There appear to be some cases where this TEXT is missing.
3) Convert the latter TEXT object to a number, and use this number in conjunction with the bar spacing (what determines the bar spacing?) to calculate the number of bars for each TEXT object which specifies additional bars.
4) Keep a running total of each type of bar, and iterate all TEXT objects selected in #1.
5) Report # bars of each type upon completion.

You do not say if you have any AutoLISP experience.