Author Topic: API Book or PDF  (Read 1987 times)

JimAndi

API Book or PDF
« on: August 16, 2011, 09:59:34 PM »
Hello everyone,

As I posted in my previous topic I am very new to the AutoDesk .NET (C#) development and I'm struggling trying to wrap my old brain around this new concept. Does anyone know or have documentation on the AutoDesk .NET API? I started developing AutoLisp In the late 80s And the most powerful book in the AutoDesk collection was only 3/8 of an inch thick. The book was the AutoDesk customization guide. The book broke down each AutoLisp function, so that you could understand how to use the language.

Is there any book(s)/documentation that I can acquire on the AutoCAD .NET development?

I know I am just a mosquito in the big pond here...  :-)

Jim

Jeff H

• Needs a day job
Re: API Book or PDF
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 03:25:40 PM »
Not to my knowledge,
The docs have the best 'documneted book'
The developers guide in help.

Search here or ask.

There is a Jerry Winters book I got when first started messing with API but it  does not go into any type of explanation on how the API works.
There are 200 pages that are nothing but screenshoots of the object browser. You will get a better explanation asking here.

sunny52266

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2011, 03:17:38 PM »
So jeff, how exactly would you recomment getting started? I have done labs from DevTV and I understand what is going on. What I do not understand most of the time is why, and how and where to use the functions, transactions, and properties of various pre-defined classes. I know the syntax and how to accomplish what I want, but cant seem to figure out the way(s) to achieve anything.

P.S Ive dedicated atleast 6 hours of reading and experimenting with code for the last 5 days.

Thanks, if you've wasted your time so far :p and do reply if you will! :)

huiz

• Swamp Rat
  • Certified Prof C3D
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2011, 08:22:00 AM »